New Blog, Abused Author

After much bullying by people who claim to be my friends I’ve published this blog. Their hearts are in the right place I’m sure; left side of chest and all that, at least I hope so it’ll make it harder to stab them in the back if it’s on the right.

Very few people know me and that’s okay; makes it easier to blend in.

Two years ago I published my first book Underground Railroad as an indy author. I know; EW! That book did alright as I toured a few states and mostly sell by word of mouth. With the recent publishing of my second book in the Verian series, Hybrid, my so called friends are harassing me into ‘promoting’ and ‘spreading the word’.

First in that step was offering UR for free for 3days in celebration of Hybrid’s release. 1330 people took advantage of that offer world wide though Amazon. The second step was spamming the hell out of my friends FB pages. Apparently this is the third step. I’ve been told, that I need to “build trust” with the public and that “the more they trust you the more they’ll buy”. Personally I’ve bought very few books from author’s I’ve “trusted”. I buy them ’cause the look interesting and aren’t on the best sellers list.

Don’t expect regular updates or the secrets of the world answered here. Do expect random things that catch my interest; like crocheting, knitting, clones lace, sewing, photography, moving, hiking and yes writing along with a host of other topics.

Until my next post,

Bye y’all.

 

 

 

About Marcia Young

I’m the wife of an active duty Army NCO and the mother of one, home schooled, special needs child. I have won several people’s choice awards for my fanfiction under the moniker MLMonty. All of my current published works can be found via Smashwords and other retailers under my nom de plume Marcia Young. I am currently open to finding a new literary agent and publisher.
This entry was posted in General Ramblings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New Blog, Abused Author

  1. JenK says:

    😉 Hey a business major is helping you out and technically, this should have been the first step…we are apparently reading out of order on how to do things the right way in my current class. Keep at it!

  2. marciayoung says:

    Business is HARD! Besides since when did I do anything in order? Get published, go on tour, FB page, publish again, then a blog… yeah i might have more success if I did things the right way; but seriously where’s the fun in forethought?

Leave a Reply

