My Attempts at Clones Lace

Last Thursday I finally cracked open my Clones Lace book. The above are the pieces I’ve managed to crank out in a week of squinty eyed, headache inducing concentration. Even the thickest thread used, a size 10, is horribly thin and the hooks used are nearly invisible.

I was pleasantly surprised to find that it was easier to learn than I anticipated; probably because of my basic knowledge of crochet. The biggest challenges to date have come from remembering that a DC is really a SC because of the conversion. The history of Clones Lace is fascinating in the book; though I admit to skipping much of it get to the knit and gritty.

The only other problem I’ve encountered is the directions are sometimes difficult to decipher. I have no idea if it’s due to my beginner knowledge of crochet, I picked up my first hook Christmas Day, or if the directions are truly confusing at times. All I do know is that the embellishment that children started with before actually graduating to the harder aspects took me hours to learn, while the wild rose took me only 40mins.

Either way I recommend this form of lace for crocheters with a smattering of knowledge and beyond and are looking for a challenge. I’ve already bought thread in green, purple and blue so I can have some verity. While I appreciate the skill to make lace I can only stand so much white.

About Marcia Young

I’m the wife of an active duty Army NCO and the mother of one, home schooled, special needs child. I have won several people’s choice awards for my fanfiction under the moniker MLMonty. All of my current published works can be found via Smashwords and other retailers under my nom de plume Marcia Young. I am currently open to finding a new literary agent and publisher.
This entry was posted in Clones Lace and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to My Attempts at Clones Lace

  1. Beautiful pieces and I highly commend you for sticking with them. I personally do not have the patience to use such small threads and hooks (I have them in my pile of yarns, but have attempted twice to use them and just ended up with a roaring headache and backache). I so admire the delicacy and beauty of the clones lace pieces and the people that make them.

  2. marciayoung says:

    Thank you. I’ve gotten many compliments on them but I have to bite back my desire to yell at the that they’re crap. I’ve even had one woman ask if she could buy some to use as appliques. I’m confident that with practice (and as I work my way though the book) that I can do better. 🙂

    • They are beautiful and I don’t blame people for wanting to buy them from you 🙂 We are all our own worse critics in the end. I look forward to seeing more of your work (I love admiring things that I know I will not make myself)

  3. marciayoung says:

    LOL maybe I should switch career paths. Make writing my hobby and lace making my career. My friend was rather surprised I didn’t capitalize on someone wanting to buy them for appliques. No matter which one makes me money it’ll go to my ‘turn my husband into a kept man’ fund. *drifts off daydreaming of kilts and bacon*

  4. Beautiful work, imagine what you will be coming up with by learning more and sticking to it. Beautiful. Be proud x

  5. marciayoung says:

    Thank you for the encouragement. Normally I use the same which is why its so large. LOL I have used the 1.25 hook before. I find it helps to not actually look at the hook, just the direction it’s going. The local quilt shop in my new town sales a small amount of yarn and thread and is willing to special order some for me. They carry down to a 100 thread but no hooks. I need to get around to looking up again the hooks I need.

Leave a Reply

