Secret Agent AADD

   For months now I’ve been chomping at the bit to start writing the third book in the Verian series. I kept putting it off since Hybrid wasn’t edited at that point. I kept telling myself I was a big girl and could make the responsible decision to finish the laborious project of editing. Despite the fact that an editor only catches about 75% of all the errors I was hesitant to bring in more people. The last two I had brought in had life changing events occur within a week of accepting and I began to despair that the book wasn’t meant to be published.

Finally last Tuesday all was ready and it was published for the Kindle, with plans of expanding to other formats once Kindle Select was over.

I could write book three! Finally, after months of secretly plotting and mentally writing only to shove those traitorous thoughts away I could make headway.

Then I got a visit from Secret Agent AADD.

Now I’ve never been officially diagnosed with any of the attention deficit disorders be it AADD, ADD, ADHD or whatever new acronym they’re using today. Times like these however I have wonder. Six thousand words into chapter one and I find myself itching to twine thread around my fingers and grip my hook tighter.

Just like any addict I find myself saying, ‘Surely just a little longer won’t hurt. I’ll stop in a minute.’ Just like sewing, knitting and crocheting before them I know it’s only a matter of time before clones lace looses it’s luster and seductive pull. I wonder how my husband tolerates my rapid transitions from one hobby to the next. I’m sure it bothers him on some level; especially since he mentioned the other day that he was positive I spend 20 hours a day learning it.

What nonsense; I value my sleep far too much to live off of only four hours… though I have begun to dream of loops of thread.

Hopefully I’ll receive a reply from a non-profit org I emailed about including them in my book. Perhaps that will force my hand back to where I want it to be; away from the hook and longing for the pen.

Don’t despair too badly, however, my readers. I have decided on the heroine’s first name, Vella, meaning beautiful. A name that’s very appropriate for her in my usual punny style. I’ve settled on the last name of Treanor for now; the same last name of the authoress who wrote the book Clones Lace. Also appropriate given my current obsession, though I do plan on changing it at a later date; both the obsession and the name.

Perhaps until then I’ll dust off Frankenstein Sewing; How to upscale clothes and sew on a budget, for total beginners, by a beginner. Never having decided what to do with that perhaps I’ll post that here.

At least it’s writing related…

 

About Marcia Young

I’m the wife of an NCO and the mother of one, home schooled, special needs child. I have won several people’s choice awards for my fanfiction under the moniker MLMonty. All of my current published works can be found via Smashwords and other retailers under my nom de plume Marcia Young. I am currently open to finding a new literary agent and publisher.
This entry was posted in Verian Series and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

