Frankenstein Sewing

    Last Christmas I decided I desperately need to write a sewing book for true beginners. Many of the beginner sewing books I acquired in my lust for clothing that fit often had words and techniques that I didn’t understand. That would send me to the internet just to muddle my way out of confusion.

As a result of my frustration I asked anyone and everyone to teach me how to sew. I quickly found that only a few of my friends knew how to sew and they were all beginners themselves. We swapped our favorite internet sites like; about.com, dana-made-it.com and burdastyle.com. This still didn’t satisfy my lust filled notions of designing clothing just for me.

I discovered that while I could make pillows and purses to my hearts content I was hopeless trying to decipher patterns and make clothing. I was spending a fortune on fabric and getting sub par results.

Finally I started doing what I do best; modification.

If I couldn’t make a shirt from scratch I was going to modify the hell out of it till I could wear it again. At first I wasn’t comfortable doing it. There were books for a reason! There were techniques I didn’t know! It was discovering http://www.dana-made-it.com and The Illustrated Hassle-Free Make Your Own Clothes Book by Joan Wiener Bordow and Sharon Rosenberg that finally assuaged my fears enough to let me experiment.

In the pages section of my blog I’ve already uploaded the introduction to the book I wrote (than sat on until now). Expect a very down to earth style of writing with anecdotes and lots of pictures. If you’re confused about a process after having read ALL of the instructions leave a comment at the bottom of the correct project and I’ll work with you until you understand it. After that I’ll attempt to adjust the directions in the page for everyone.

Keep all comments polite however. I reserve the right to gleefully delete any flames. Honest questions will be answered to the best of my ability; assuming I know the answer.

About Marcia Young

I’m the wife of an NCO and the mother of one, home schooled, special needs child. I have won several people’s choice awards for my fanfiction under the moniker MLMonty. All of my current published works can be found via Smashwords and other retailers under my nom de plume Marcia Young. I am currently open to finding a new literary agent and publisher.
This entry was posted in Frankenstein Sewing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

