The Maya Prophecy

Recently I want to scream when I turn on the T.V. No, it’s not the football mania or the overly sexed commercials for a change. Over and over again I see commercials on how the Maya Prophecy is predicting the end of the world for Dec, 21 2012 so you better buy this or that. Before my trip to Mexico last month I thought it was a load of bull. I figured the guy in charge earned himself a nice little vacation after working out a calender so far ahead and then by the time he got back his civilization was over. Hey, it happens.

I love visiting old ruins and hearing the tales behind them. While I didn’t like the history classes taught in school I’m more than happy to dig into local and foreign tales. My home town of Charleston, SC is awash in history. And tours like the one to a prison off of Magazine Street are terrifyingly wonderful.

Yeah, that prison was creepy and in use for over a 100 yrs; co-ed. It’s where I got the idea for the prison in Hybrid to be co-ed.

 

After my trip to Dzibilchaltun I knew the truth about the prophecy.

Our tour guide was not only a 100% Mayan but an archeologist a well. Pretty nice credentials for a tour guide. We saw the Temple of the Seven Dolls and explored the ruins. I swam in the Well of Life; making my pain ridden joints happy to have the pressure off for a while.

On our hour long drive there our tour guide regaled us with stories from his family, about slavery to the Mexicans, and most of all a 15 minute rant on the prophecy.

All the hype we’ve been hearing for years now about the End of the World on Dec, 21 2012 is bunk. That’s not what the prophecy says apparently. There’s a second line! One that surprise, surprise tells of what happens after the ‘end’.

While I don’t remember the exact lines it basically goes like this:

On Dec 21 2012 it will be the end of the ‘world’. AFTER that the new ‘world’ begins.

It was then explained that they Mayans operated on a 5000 year calender. They divided the eras not by every 1000 years like we do now but by every 5000 years and refereed to them as ‘worlds’. On Dec 21 2012 the current era of man will end while on Dec 22 2012 a new one will begin.

About Marcia Young

I’m the wife of an active duty Army NCO and the mother of one, home schooled, special needs child. I have won several people’s choice awards for my fanfiction under the moniker MLMonty. All of my current published works can be found via Smashwords and other retailers under my nom de plume Marcia Young. I am currently open to finding a new literary agent and publisher.
This entry was posted in General Ramblings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Maya Prophecy

  1. anonymousforprajapati says:

    The Mayan and Hopi 4th world is ending and the 5th world is begining. The hope is that we will return to harmony with Mother Earth in the fifth world.

Leave a Reply

