Cup of Joe for a Joe

One of the things I encourage on a regular basis on my FB page Verian Universe is a program called Cup of Joe for a Joe. A company called Green Beans Coffee has several stores located in FOB’s in Afganistan, Iraq, Djibouti, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Qatar, Southwest Asia, United Arab Emirates and they’ve started to expand to the US.

What makes them more awesome than other coffee companies; other than being where our troops are in places with little creature comforts?

The Cup of Joe for a Joe program is where you can buy a military man or woman who’s signed up for the program a Cup of Joe. The prices of a cup can be as little as 2$ up to 60$ depending on how much you’re buying or you can customize an amount.

Does 2$ really make a difference?

Absolutely!

My husband’s been deployed four times and most of my friends have 3-5 deployments under their belts. They’re die hard Green Beans supporters now. When you buy a cup of joe it goes to someone you never met on a list with a note from you. Often the soldier writes a thank you back. This seriously increases moral like you can’t imagine.

I’ve had to listen too many times to a loved one over there saying they’re not getting enough water bottles, food, sunscreen or how they had to wait for deodorant ’cause the PX is out, again.

A simple thank you and a cup of coffee or tea makes them feel just a little less unappreciated.

About Marcia Young

I’m the wife of an NCO and the mother of one, home schooled, special needs child. I have won several people’s choice awards for my fanfiction under the moniker MLMonty. All of my current published works can be found via Smashwords and other retailers under my nom de plume Marcia Young. I am currently open to finding a new literary agent and publisher.
This entry was posted in General Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cup of Joe for a Joe

  1. I love Cup of Joe and have done it many many times. They really do make it easy to make a difference. And along with the note you send (and often a thank you back) there is a pen pal option. If the person donating the coffee and the troop both happen to check that box, there you go. That’s a whole lot of morale from one cup of coffee 🙂

  2. marciayoung says:

    I’m thrilled that you participate! It really does make their day. My husband was always tickled to get to a FOB with a Green Beans and get a free drink. Oh! For those of you who don’t know their FB page often posts pics of ppl receiving their free drink. 🙂

  3. Jane Nelson says:

    I’m still doing it once a month. I hope it’s good coffee cuz I’ve bought a lot of it!

    • marciayoung says:

      It’s the only Spiced Chai Tea my husband DOESN’T complain about. I buy it by the lb. He got hooked over there 3rd deployment came home then bitched that the stuff at Starbucks ‘wasn’t the right kind’.

Leave a Reply

