Locks of Love Not Worth it?

I always thought Locks of Love was a great program. A few days ago I was talking to my friend about how I’m growing my hair out again. I like it long. My husband likes it short. So we compromise. I grow it out and get it cut again when he gets annoyed. When we got together in high school my hair was waist length.

I told her that every time I tried to donate my hair the salon would tell me they just stopped doing the Locks of Love free hair cut program so eventually I shrugged my shoulders and went someplace cheaper. My hair never got donated.

She however has donated her hair; to Pantene’s Beautiful Lengths program. Okay I admit that I’m often behind the times. I hadn’t heard of them. She then told me that Locks of Love sells its hair and wigs!

Surely she was wrong. The hair goes to children with cancer! What kind of monster gets people to donate their own hair then sells it to people with cancer! So I looked it up. According to Pantene they ship the wigs to the American Cancer Society Wig Bank Program for them to distribute as needed. Pretty straight forward actually. The American Cancer Society has a list of available centers that handle wigs and each one listed the cost as free.

I went to LOL’s website… and found a long list of requirements.Which I lifted straight from their site.

Medical
Doctor’s Diagnosis, can be faxed by doctor’s office to us.
Photo of child without hairpiece or hat to help us with the custom fit. Please do not fax photographs.
Financial

Parent/Guardian’s most recent tax returns
or
Other Proof of Income: Social Security, Welfare, Disability income
Other documents that verify extenuating financial circumstances
Personal
Two letters of
recommendation from a parent, teacher, friend, coach, etc. explaining why the child would benefit from a hairpiece.

 

Why does LOL require my tax return? Why do I need letters for referral saying my kid needs a wig?  Why the hell do you want a pic of my child? Especially if I just provided you with a dr’s note that he has cancer?

One thing I didn’t find was how much each wig was.

Next time I cut all my hair off I’ll deal with Pantene at least I know it’s going to the American Cancer Society; and while I may be angry at them for not pushing breast cancer awareness for men at least they try their best for all cancer patients.

About Marcia Young

I’m the wife of an NCO and the mother of one, home schooled, special needs child. I have won several people’s choice awards for my fanfiction under the moniker MLMonty. All of my current published works can be found via Smashwords and other retailers under my nom de plume Marcia Young. I am currently open to finding a new literary agent and publisher.
This entry was posted in General Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Locks of Love Not Worth it?

  1. rowdyjaner says:

    That just makes Locks of Love look pathetic and greedy. My nephew grew and donated 42″ of hair while his younger brother was undergoing treatment for leukemia. I sure hope HIS hair wasn’t sold, that was not his intention at ALL!

  2. marciayoung says:

    I certainly hope not. I could find nothing about what happens to the hair beyond that it’s made into wigs. The fact that you have to supply your financial info is not promising. That alone make me wary. They could claim that it’s so people don’t take advantage of the system. But the fact that you need to supply so much info and that the company doesn’t have transparency does not put my mind at ease.

    • marciayoung says:

      It is this sentence in particular that has me worried “Other documents that verify extenuating financial circumstances”. It leads me to believe that not all wigs are free but some are depending on how much money you have.

      • Me says:

        A couple of years ago they did have that info on their site. I checked it out before switching to Pantene’s program.

  3. marciayoung says:

    Did they say if they were charging based on income or if they were free? I did find their 2010 tax return posted but not the 2011.

Leave a Reply

