Marketing Woes

What’s an indy author to do when they’re hopelessly incompetent at marketing?

I’ve read the books on marketing; didn’t understand them or unwilling to use their practices for a verity of reasons. I’ve reduced the price of my old book after my new one came out from 4.99 to 2.99. I’ve run a promotional offering the 1st book for free for 3 days on Amazon; 1330 were downloaded and it was 17 books shy of the top 100. They’re both part of Amazon’s KDP Select program until Dec 3 when I’ll switch over to Smashwords. I have my FB page; Verian Universe. I have my Twitter; Verian Outpost. I have my blog; your reading it. I have an Author’s Page on Amazon. I’ve gone on tour for my 1st book before my husband deployed. I’m far too broke to pay for advertising.

And I’m still hopeless.

Once hype over the new release wore off sales vanished as surely as bigfoot seeing a camera does.

It’s beyond frustrating at times. I have die hard fans that constantly email me or PM me asking about progress about the latest book. I even take the time to assure them that I’m working on it and it’ll happen when it happens.

Those who’ve read my work swear by anything I write. I’m constantly told by friends and family that it’s amazing and I should stick with it. But without a decent marketing strategy I’m doomed before I begin.

The key to any success is a good product paired with good marketing; or in some cases just awesome advertising with sub-par product.

For moral reasons I’m unwilling to generate false reviews; Forbes has an article on it.

While I do encourage my friends, family and readers to rate and review I tell them straight up “Keep it honest. If you hated it say so and why. If you think it only deserves 3 stars rate it that way.”

No agent has been willing to touch my work; I admit I only halfheartedly waded through the 10,000’s of agents out there. It’s discouraging when you know they’re only reading a query letter or the 1st few pages. (where I do my background on the story or the character)

No publisher is willing these days to take a chance on new authors.

I’m unwilling to spam my three email accounts of it’s contacts to bully people into plonking down 3-5$’s.

I am contemplating doing a meet and greet when we move next month. I’ve always sold well at military bases. I can sell face to face no problem and paperback goes for 15. I guess it helps that the guys get bored pulling Duty. There’s only so much to do when you work 24hrs straight.

I donate copies of UR to the guys In Theater whenever a friend or family member deploys. They’re bored enough to read it.

But over all my lack of funds and the presence of ethics shoots me in the foot.

So I guess I’ll continue writing since it’s my passion, and I’ll continue to publish ebooks since I can do so for free, and I’ll continue to drown in the sea of authors saturating our literary world.

About Marcia Young

I’m the wife of an active duty Army NCO and the mother of one, home schooled, special needs child. I have won several people’s choice awards for my fanfiction under the moniker MLMonty. All of my current published works can be found via Smashwords and other retailers under my nom de plume Marcia Young. I am currently open to finding a new literary agent and publisher.
This entry was posted in Verian Series and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Marketing Woes

  1. bwfoster78 says:

    Marcia,

    I feel your pain. There seems to be no good way to guarantee the success of a book. However, there are some things you can do that may help. I’ve listed my plan at: http://brianwfoster.com/2012/10/10/my-preliminary-marketing-plan-for-my-to-be-self-published-fiction-book/.

    Check it out and let me know if any of the advice helped.

    Thanks.

    Brian

Leave a Reply

