I Hate Yard Sales

Trying to make a deal!

Thursday my son told me he had a brilliant idea; he wanted to have a yard sale. The only thing I can blame it on was me forcing him to watch The Men Who Built America. I blame it on young Rockefeller who sold candy to the other children.

Why couldn’t he have wanted to do something else? I hate yard sales! We spent 3 1/2hrs going through his toys separating the ones he wanted to get rid of from the ones he wanted to keep. Then separating those into functioning and broken.

While I applaud my son wanting to earn money for new toys by selling his old ones; I hate yard sales.

First you wake up early and get set up. While setting up you have the professional buyers who scour neighborhoods trying to find stuff before everyone else even wakes up. This led to my son losing a lot of money. He inadvertently sold an entire bag of toys for 2$ instead of 2$ each (they were large toys that still worked) because he doesn’t speak Spanish and his dad was busy pulling toys out of the garage. No one realized what happened until the old woman grabbed the bag and wondered off.

After he finally got set up he did a little better besides the people who kept demanding that we bring more stuff out. What part of ‘no mas’ and ‘it’s the boy’s yard sale’ did they not understand? That’s the problem of living on a Spanish speaking border when you know only a spattering of German; language barriers.

On the upside my son will learn a few lessons.

  • I’m still not giving him an allowance
  • No I still won’t buy him toys beyond special occasions
  • Have an eye in the back of your head when dealing with customers
  • Don’t be afraid to demand the money for the goods
  • Earning your own money feels good
  • Getting rid of your old junk gives you more room for new junk

But despite the valuable life lessons he’s (hopefully) learning; I still hate yard sales!

About Marcia Young

I’m the wife of an active duty Army NCO and the mother of one, home schooled, special needs child. I have won several people’s choice awards for my fanfiction under the moniker MLMonty. All of my current published works can be found via Smashwords and other retailers under my nom de plume Marcia Young. I am currently open to finding a new literary agent and publisher.
This entry was posted in General Ramblings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Hate Yard Sales

  1. Jane Nelson says:

    There must be a special corner in hell for people who take advantage of a child. And I don’t blame you… I don’t want to EVER have another garage sale!

  2. marciayoung says:

    He ended up bringing in 28$ so not bad since it was mostly toys. He wants to do it again tomorrow but we told him no.

    After talking with my husband I think the woman was a professional buyer and did it on purpose. My husband was talking to her son who spoke a little English when she went through and unpacked a bag of toys we hadn’t laid out, repacked it and took the bag as well as a Lightening McQueen car that was a ft long and made noises and lit up all for 2$.

    My son was pissed she took the bag. It was a nice cloth bag the PX gave out as a promotion back in Germany. I don’t think he understood the loss of money. I told my son not to hesitate to stop someone if anyone else tried it. Luckily no one else did.

Leave a Reply

