Luck or Rather the Lack Thereof

It takes skill. It takes some for of demented uber skill to manage what I did Saturday night.

A year and a half ago right before my husband deployed for the fourth time I was trying to teach my son yoga. As I was demonstrating a pose I half turned to correct his reprimanding him about being safe while exercising.

I became an object lesson.

I managed to twist my knee just right to cause the kneecap to no longer track correctly. I spent several months in physical therapy and it still doesn’t track right but it no longer hurts. When I first injured it, it liked to suddenly give out on me while I was walking nearly sending me to the floor a couple of times in public. Luckily that stopped.

Saturday night I managed to twist it again!

I was going to stand up from the couch and my husband said something which made me laugh. Somehow, through my amazing uber skill, I managed to lose my balance, turn a quarter turn to grab onto the back of the couch, leaning across the cushion to do so, and retwist my knee.

I spent all day yesterday with it propped up. It was swollen quite nicely and hurt whenever someone even gently put their hand on it. Luckily I have plenty of practice in hobbling around quickly.

Thankfully, since my husband is leaving this weekend, for a to be determined amount of time in another state, I only managed to aggravate it. The swelling has gone down and I can walk as well as I ever do.

But still it takes demented uber skill to manage that kind of feat.

About Marcia Young

I’m the wife of an NCO and the mother of one, home schooled, special needs child. I have won several people’s choice awards for my fanfiction under the moniker MLMonty. All of my current published works can be found via Smashwords and other retailers under my nom de plume Marcia Young. I am currently open to finding a new literary agent and publisher.
This entry was posted in General Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

