Highfiving Cheerleaders

Last night my husband and son went to a UTEP game. It’s a four day weekend and he decided to try to get Nate more into football. I decided to decline since I’m still recovering from my bad day. I can once again turn my head though without much pain so I’m happy.

Thirty minutes before kickoff I get the following pic txt to me:

20121111-080321.jpg

I was wowed at how close they were. I may not know much about football but I know front row is always good unless you’re at a play. Shortly after I get another pic:

20121111-080724.jpg

Is my son trying to highfive the mascot? Why yes, yes he is.

Oh, but it doesn’t end. Our son’s enjoyment of things like this is always iffy. While not autistic he has some autistic tendencies like aversion to loud noises. He brought along some headphones, the kind that muffle loud noises, but even then it’s not guaranteed that its enough or that he’ll enjoy himself.

About halfway throughout the game I get an excited text from my husband.

“He’s highfiving cheerleaders!”

Seriously? Apparently yes. When they finally stumbled in around 9pm I quizzed my son. I only got out of him that he “had a good time” but he won’t do it again because its too loud. And that cheerleaders are nice.

Other people’s kids go to football games for the football players mine goes to highfive cheerleaders and mascots.

*amendment apparently it was a group of cheerleaders he highfived not a single one*

About Marcia Young

I’m the wife of an active duty Army NCO and the mother of one, home schooled, special needs child. I have won several people’s choice awards for my fanfiction under the moniker MLMonty. All of my current published works can be found via Smashwords and other retailers under my nom de plume Marcia Young. I am currently open to finding a new literary agent and publisher.
This entry was posted in General Ramblings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Highfiving Cheerleaders

  1. Nick says:

    Yes, he did actually high-five both the mascot and a group of cheerleaders.

  2. marciayoung says:

    I’m sure you encouraged him. *rolls eyes*

  3. Jane Nelson says:

    ALL of the cheerleaders? I’m so proud…

  4. marciayoung says:

    Ugh, don’t encourage him he’s only 9.

Leave a Reply

