Signs or Paranoia: Part Two

A house near Grafenwoehr Germany being built

FishGranny had asked me a while back if my hunch ever paid off about buying that house. Well the answer is: yes.

In my post back in Sept Signs or Paranoia I said that it seemed as if God was bashing me over the head with signs that I would regret it if I bought that house. The house was perfect for our needs, it had the space we wanted, in a decent neighborhood, in a state we liked, that had jobs for my husband once he retired. What wasn’t to like?

If I had signed the paperwork like I was supposed to than we’d be ready to move in on Nov 13th.

We haven’t moved yet.

Not only have we not moved yet but my husband’s orders aren’t even ready! In the military first you get an assignment which is basically an intent to move you somewhere. Next you get orders meaning you are moving there officially. Then you clear from your current base/post which is like clearing out your desk when transferring or being fired in the civilian sector. Last you report to your new duty station by the appropriate day.

We got as far as an assignment before paperwork was lost delaying the process for orders.

Now if we had bought that house we’d be paying not only our rent in one State but the mortgage in another for a minimum of at least one month.

Now the tricky thing about assignments is that while they have the date you’re supposed to show up at your new base they can be changed. Drastically changed sometimes. In our case the report date was pushed back a month. That gives us enough time for my husband to redo the paperwork lost and finish clearing out his desk so to speak.

However, in some really, really unlucky cases they’ll change everything and send you to a different place than they originally said they were. In the military nothing is guaranteed until you get the orders in your hands.

So far the decision based on signs, that I thought I was seeing, to not bid on that house has saved us tons of money.

Only the future will tell if this the end of it.

About Marcia Young

I’m the wife of an NCO and the mother of one, home schooled, special needs child. I have won several people’s choice awards for my fanfiction under the moniker MLMonty. All of my current published works can be found via Smashwords and other retailers under my nom de plume Marcia Young. I am currently open to finding a new literary agent and publisher.
This entry was posted in General Ramblings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Signs or Paranoia: Part Two

  1. Me says:

    Glad ya listened!

Leave a Reply

