Traveling

A while back someone asked me if I traveled a lot. I had to think about it. Seriously, I did. My family has always traveled; long weekends to visit relatives, camping in the summer, national parks, Sea World in Canada, you name it. I also traveled with my grandmother one summer to Ireland, the UK, France, Italy, Switzerland, Germany, and the Netherlands.

Once Nick and I married we drove from South Carolina after he finished AIT in Georgia to Washington for his first duty station. For that three day trip alone we drove through, Tennessee, Missouri, Iowa, South Dakota, Montana, Idaho and Washington.

While in Washington we visited Mount Rainer.

And during my husband’s first deployment a friend and I drove up to Mount St. Helen’s while it was venting. Nick and I drove through Oregon and California to get to Arizona. While in Arizona we took a weekend trip to the Grand Canyon.

From Arizona we moved to Germany. We ended up living in three different cities in only four years and traveling all over. Garmish is particularly nice nestled among the Alps it’s perfect for nature and ski enthusiasts. Without my husband I traveled with my sister to Belgium and Luxemburg on a day trip. After my husband’s second deployment we took a week long vacation to Rhodes, Greece. Before we moved back to the states we took a weekend trip to Vienna, Austria. When we moved back to the states we used our position in Texas to make the two day drive to visit Tennessee and South Carolina traveling through Louisiana, Mississippi and North Carolina. On the way back we went through Arkansas and Oklahoma. We also made sure to visit the Carlsbad Caverns in New Mexico.Just recently after my husband’s fourth deployment we took a five day cruise with port of calls to Mexico. But over all does all this mean I travel a lot? I’m not sure. Do I travel more than most… probably. But I know people who travel more but shorter distances. Do they travel a lot? Or is it a question of well traveled? Then again I wouldn’t say I was well traveled either. I haven’t been passed Western Europe while I have friends who have.

In the end I still have no idea whether I travel a lot or if I’m well traveled or if I simply travel.

About Marcia Young

I’m the wife of an NCO and the mother of one, home schooled, special needs child. I have won several people’s choice awards for my fanfiction under the moniker MLMonty. All of my current published works can be found via Smashwords and other retailers under my nom de plume Marcia Young. I am currently open to finding a new literary agent and publisher.
This entry was posted in General Ramblings and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

