Black Friday: When you try to fight off your food coma with marathon shopping

I hope everyone who celebrates it had a great Thanksgiving. My mom certainly had a full house. Six of my sisters and their families showed up; including their pets. While we couldn’t go this year I called via FaceTime so that those who haven’t seen my son could at least have a chance to talk to him.

I spent the day trying to cook. Unfortunately it was one of my bad days. Normally I refuse to take my medication but yesterday I broke down and took some; I tend to develop tolerances or allergic reactions to meds if taken too often. My hips, knees and ankles felt so bad I was positive that if I looked down I’d see severe bruising.

My husband luckily stepped up to the plate and helped me cook. I told him what to do or what to carry if I couldn’t do it and he did it. Between the two of us we managed; an open faced apple pie in gram-cracker crust, a duck, macaroni and cheese, crescent rolls, mashed potatoes, rice stuffing to go with the duck, chocolate mousse and cinnamon sugar crescent rolls. For three people that’s a lot of food.

My son was asleep by three p.m.!

My husband on the other hand had a list and was sticking to it.

He was off to enjoy Black Friday. The day that people stay up late or get up insanely early to shop at deep discounts. I did my 1st Black Friday last year but didn’t bother this year. I made most of my Christmas Gift last month and there was nothing I needed. The only thing I really did was offer both of my books at half price from the 21st to the end of today.

My husband was mostly upset that we couldn’t fit a larger TV in the entertainment center. He did, however, manage to be number 11 in line for a GameStop that opened at 12. I also know he came home and got our son and went back out to hit the PX and a different GameStop as well; those opened at 4 a.m.

My son was excited as well. He’s been talking for weeks about going and buying toys. Toys are a serious issue with my son. As an only child he has more than he needs but he never feels he has enough. I however don’t believe in giving a child an allowance. Seriously, why would I pay him for doing nothing? Instead he has two types of chores. Type one is what he’s responsible for, like cleaning his bedroom, he does not get paid for that. Type two is extra chores, which he does get paid for; namely my chores, like vacuuming.

I have no idea who bought my son toys last night since I was asleep by 1130; early for me. However, I do know he bought some since he happily told me, in between looking at stuff on YouTube, where they went last night that he got a new ninjago and skylanders giants.

And now I need to go and awaken my husband and see if he fought off his food coma.

About Marcia Young

I’m the wife of an active duty Army NCO and the mother of one, home schooled, special needs child. I have won several people’s choice awards for my fanfiction under the moniker MLMonty. All of my current published works can be found via Smashwords and other retailers under my nom de plume Marcia Young. I am currently open to finding a new literary agent and publisher.
This entry was posted in General Ramblings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

