PCSing

My husband’s off to a new duty station. This will be his 7th one in a little over a dozen years. This time we won’t be going with him at first. We opted to stay where we are until we get housing opened up for us. Normally we move with him and look for a place to rent once we’re there. This is pretty stressful since it means living in a hotel for weeks on end. Our new destination has a very short waiting list for on base housing. Instead of waiting 6 months to a year for a house to open up it’s only 2-3 months on average. Maybe shorter if we’re lucky?

It’s both more stressful and less not moving with him. It’s less stressful since we don’t have to cram ourselves into a small hotel room for weeks on end. Tempers tend to run high under those circumstances. It also means we don’t have to deal with our household goods being moved and put into storage while we wait for a house. Once we get a place we can do a door-to-door move. I’ll also be able to take the next few weeks to pack things myself like my crystal and china. There are definite upsides to waiting to move. For a few weeks at least we can continue to see our friends and keep our routine. Rosary making on Tuesdays, Pray shawls on Thursdays, MCCW on Fridays. My son isn’t a homebody like myself and likes to get out during the week. We just learned to take his schoolwork with us. It’s a good practice for him to learn to work in a variety of environments.

The downside is that he’s not home and that’s another kind of stress in and of itself. While we’re used to him being gone it doesn’t make it easier. Yes there’s Skype and FaceTime and a host of other services to make the separation easier but it’s still a separation. Being separated from your loved ones is never easy, you just learn to adapt. It also means that when it comes time to move I’ll have to deal with the movers by myself as well as clean by myself. (I suck at cleaning. Luckily my landlord is pretty laid back.) I have to deal with our child wanting to know when he’ll see his father again, and if he really has to do his schoolwork if dad isn’t home.

Overall it’s just kinda depressing. I don’t like being separated from my husband. My son doesn’t like being separated from his dad. My husband is a family man and doesn’t like being separated from us. (Yes family men still exist)

So for now I’ll just wait patiently for the call saying we have a house. I’ll pack and clean till then. I’ll start taking things off the walls and patching the nail holes. And life will go on no matter the separation.

About Marcia Young

I’m the wife of an NCO and the mother of one, home schooled, special needs child. I have won several people’s choice awards for my fanfiction under the moniker MLMonty. All of my current published works can be found via Smashwords and other retailers under my nom de plume Marcia Young. I am currently open to finding a new literary agent and publisher.
This entry was posted in General Ramblings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

