The Magic is Dead

We’ve teased my son for years that he’s the reason it snows everywhere we go. Born late at night in the middle of June he was welcomed into the world with thunder, rain, lightening and hail. Even my mom commented on the unusual weather that night. Since that night we’ve had snow every winter.

During my husband’s 1st deployment I traveled with my little bundle of joy to visit my parents in SC for Christmas. We returned to snow… in Western Washington. We were told it ‘never snows in Tacoma’. Talk about an unpleasant surprise as I got off the plane with a 6 month old who had pneumonia. (No, he doesn’t have pneumonia anymore in the pic)

my first snow

2003

A year later it snowed again!

Just for perspective tues 6 2004

2004

The trend continued even in Southern Arizona. Then we spent four years living in three different German towns. It snowed in every one of them. Even after being told ‘it rarely snows in the Rhein Valley!’ …yeah, sure.

2007

2007

The worst was in the last duty station in Germany. 8 months of snow. That’s right 8 months. It snowed before Halloween and kept up till the beginning of May.

Bus stop

2008 Bus Stop

Snow days 003

2009 My friend outside her garage. Took us a few hours to clear the drive.

Finally we moved back to the States. The snow followed us to the desert!

El Paso Blizzard

It was starting to get annoying at that point. I’m a SC girl from Charleston for Christ’s Sake! This much snow is unnatural.

2011 snow in a desert

Last year was humorous. It started snowing before we left to visit my family in TN. Here I am thinking we’re escaping it by leaving. It starts snowing as I leave and follows us across four states! Safely in TN I think we’ve outrun it. My parents live in a valley. The month we were their it snowed around us but not where we were. Until… the day we left. It snowed in the valley and followed us back home!

Funnily enough the snow back home that we had ‘escaped’ was so bad it shut down transportation and made the national news. This year however it seems that my son lost his magic. It snowed at my husband’s new duty station but not where we are. (He sent me pics of it snowing there) I’ve become rather used to snow after 8 years of it. (Regardless of our location) It just doesn’t feel like Christmas without it now.

I asked my son if he could use his magic to make it snow. He told me it’ll only snow for Christmas this year. I doubt it according to my Weather Channel app it’ll be in the 60’s for Christmas.

While I won’t be getting snow this year for Christmas I will be getting sandstorms.

Winter sandstorm

All those tan lines that make the pic grainy? It’s not all due to a poor iPhone 4s camera. (I don’t know about everyone else’s but mine tends toward grainy pics) It’s mostly sand. It clogged up the roads yesterday making driving a challenge. I had sand stuck to my lipstick and in my hair after hours of shopping with my friend.

… I think I prefer snow.

About Marcia Young

I’m the wife of an NCO and the mother of one, home schooled, special needs child. I have won several people’s choice awards for my fanfiction under the moniker MLMonty. All of my current published works can be found via Smashwords and other retailers under my nom de plume Marcia Young. I am currently open to finding a new literary agent and publisher.
This entry was posted in General Ramblings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

