Premium Catalog

After days of wondering if I got the formatting correct Smashwords came down with the following verdict:

HybridHybrid needs fixing. The ToC is somehow scrambled. Luckily one of my many sisters is taking a stab at it. I’m afraid she’s going to have to nuke it but she says it’ll be good practice since she wants to offer her services via Smashwords to others.

Underground RailroadUnderground Railroad however is ready for the premium catalog! What does that actually mean? It means that Underground Railroad will be available for iBooks, B&N and other retailers who are picky about quality control.

For those of you who are new to my blog I’ll give you a bit of a background on the series. The series started with UR and was inspired by a true event. Mrs. Urban, my mother, had received a call from her best friend, Becky, asking her to take in a woman she’d never met. The woman was an acquaintance of Becky’s and was frightened for her children’s lives after her husband had threatened to kill them.  Mrs. Urban readily agreed.

The full background of UR can be found here which includes a reason for the name of the book.

Hybrid was less inspired. While Stadium High School is real its not really a prison. It just made an awesome prison once I fudged a few things. The instance with Lilata being pulled by her hair was real but my mom was saved by a teacher. The instance with the matches was also real, but it happened to my mom on the way home from school not on the way to school.

Each book can stand alone but interconnects. While reading UR you’ll find references to people from Hybrid and vice versa. In Book 3 you’ll find the same thing. (I really need to get a name for that one)

I’m really happy to have UR in the premium catalog and hope that Hybrid will be fixed soon and ready to go. 🙂

About Marcia Young

I’m the wife of an NCO and the mother of one, home schooled, special needs child. I have won several people’s choice awards for my fanfiction under the moniker MLMonty. All of my current published works can be found via Smashwords and other retailers under my nom de plume Marcia Young. I am currently open to finding a new literary agent and publisher.
This entry was posted in Verian Series and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Premium Catalog

  1. Me says:

    I finished UR yesterday. Very good and I was surprised to see the brief mention of Hybrid characters. 🙂 There were some minor editing errors too and again, I forgot to write them down.

    • marciayoung says:

      Glad you liked it. I encourage you to leave a review over on Amazon or Smashwords. I like to tie the characters in with the other books so it doesn’t seem totally detached but not so much that you have to read it in an order. Hopefully I succeed. As for editing errors it’s going to happen unfortunately. As long as they’re minor I don’t worry too much. Though it does bug me. An editor only catches about 75% of the errors so normally there are multiple editors involved. Sadly I’ve noticed a trend toward bad editing lately even in professionally published books.

  2. Me says:

    I will and I did one for Hybrid recently. I enjoyed the time off from class to read non-class related materials. Thank you for the mental break. *buries herself in school once more*

    • marciayoung says:

      LOL anytime. Ch’s 1-2 of Book 3 are posted but unedited. You can read those for a break or PM me on FB and I can use you to bounce ideas off of. I work better with feedback. Not that I always use the feedback. 😉

Leave a Reply

