A Growing Boy

Nate

Mr. Midget Man 😉

I always new my son was tiny. When he was born at 20 1/2 inches long and 7lb 15oz I took to affectionately calling him my “Mr. Midget Man”. Out of five siblings the shortest of us was only 20 1/2 inches at birth. Both sides of my family, as well as my husband’s family, have the occasional person over 6ft tall. I wondered if he’d acquire that height or remain fairly short like my husband and father. My husband is only 5ft 9 and my father somewhere around 5ft 6-7.

As he grew I shortened his nick name to “Midget”. He points out very vocally that he’s “NOT A MIDGET!” and that I’m not nice.

Well, I never said I was.

I enjoy pointing out that he’s shorter than me and that there are other things I can call him: short stuff, dwarf, small fry, vertically challenged, Aunt Carrie Look Alike, ect.

For some odd reason my son is not amused… though I am. 🙂

When he turned one what little weight my mister midget man had gained was lost. He went from the 25th percentile to the 5th. Being a first time mom I panicked. Eventually the doctor decided it was because my husband and I weren’t very large people and that it was genetic combined with his new skill of walking, but he was put on a high calorie diet. Easier said then done when I don’t allow junk food in my house, unless my husband sneaks it in, nor do I use butter, mayonnaise and a host of other ‘fattening’ foods. My son’s preference for fruit and veggies with only a smattering of meat and grains doesn’t help.

When he got put on Concerta my first concern was his weight. He doesn’t have anything to lose.

But still I didn’t realize how small he was until this week. Since he’s 9 I decided to check my state’s laws concerning booster seats as well as the laws for the state we’re moving to. I found that neither of these states had a weight requirement but only age and height ones for booster seats.

He meets the age requirements but not the height. He’s only 4ft 4 and they wants kids over age 7 and 4ft 9. Technically since he’s over 7 he can get away with out a booster. After asking him he chose to keep his seat for now.

Idly wondering how they were determining the height for ages I decided to look up boys growth carts. It really wasn’t something I’d concerned myself with since he was itty bitty.

I knew he was small but I had no idea how small. According to the chart I found he’s shorter than 50% of the other boys his age but not by much. At least he’s taller than 25% of them right? So he’s not too short where he’d get made fun of… by anyone other than me.

I was however surprised by his weight. I know I shouldn’t have been. Like I said he’s always been tiny. I can see my son’s vertebrae; all of them. According to the chart however he’s much more slender than I anticipated. He’s at the 5th percentile almost exactly. That means that 95% of the boys age 9 weight more than him. Thank God that his doctors always reassure me he’s fine with his weight when I ask… every visit, or I’d have panicked.

I can only be thankful that with today’s standard of male beauty in the US that he won’t be made fun of as he ages. He’s got the pretty ‘girly boy’ face and he’s slender. Two things going for him at present time.

Though I am hoping for him to get a severe case of shyness or acne once he’s old enough for dating. 😉

About Marcia Young

I’m the wife of an NCO and the mother of one, home schooled, special needs child. I have won several people’s choice awards for my fanfiction under the moniker MLMonty. All of my current published works can be found via Smashwords and other retailers under my nom de plume Marcia Young. I am currently open to finding a new literary agent and publisher.
This entry was posted in General Ramblings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Growing Boy

  1. rowdyjaner says:

    Shyness ain’t gonna happen to him, girl. He IS YOUR son!!!

Leave a Reply

