A Shrinking World

I often find little things in life insanely funny. For instance traveling to a place you’ve never been only to meet a stranger from your hometown. It happens more often than you think, perhaps a bit more in the military, but it occurs fairly frequently.

The shrinking of what was once a large world is most probably due to advanced communications and reliable, swift transportation. It’s a lot easier nowadays to meet someone from Charleston, SC when you’re visiting Schloss Neuschwanstein than it would have been in just my grandmother’s day.

Want to know something that made me laugh uproariously recently?

My husband likes a show called Duck Dynasty. It’s one of those reality T.V. shows. It’s about a family of rednecks who also happen to be millionaires. I’ll admit the show’s hilarious even if I have to put up with my husband, a true cityboy, asking me about stuff he sees. His logic is since I’m from South Carolina I’d know all this stuff. Or he’ll ask me to translate what he hears. My husband loves this show, he’ll watch hours of it.

SO a few weeks ago I’m sitting with my friend, a fellow homeschooler and military wife, and we’re chatting while the kids play at the park. I had mentioned the show and told her “You should see it, it’s funny. I bet your husband would like it. He’s all into hunting and living off the land.”

She looks at me, smiles and says, “I’ve never seen it since we only have Netflix and it’s not on there yet. But my in-laws have seen it. They’re related to one of the wives.”

For privacy reasons I won’t say anyone’s names, it’s just rude, but all I could do was laugh. Seriously? Apparently his mother speaks to the lady in question’s grandmother regularly. It’s her aunt. I never would have pegged them to have anything to do with a family in Louisiana since they’re from New Mexico!

To make this even funnier; apparently the cast of the show will be in Athens TN for a car show. (I think yesterday and today) A mere hour away from where my mom lives and a place I myself have done a book signing for Underground Railroad.

And maybe the situation isn’t funny to everyone but it’s damn hilarious to me. But I often find little things funny and coincidences even funnier.

About Marcia Young

I’m the wife of an NCO and the mother of one, home schooled, special needs child. I have won several people’s choice awards for my fanfiction under the moniker MLMonty. All of my current published works can be found via Smashwords and other retailers under my nom de plume Marcia Young. I am currently open to finding a new literary agent and publisher.
This entry was posted in General Ramblings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Shrinking World

  1. rowdyjaner says:

    Things like that happen so often, but many people just don’t take notice of it. I have often said that in the Detroit area if you can achieve one degree of separation you’re doing really well. Everyone knows someone who knows someone…

    • marciayoung says:

      I know two people who live in Detroit (you included) and I’ve never even driven through it! The other person I include their family of four as ‘one person’. LOL

Leave a Reply

