Repurposed Watering Can

Last Saturday my husband brought me some lovely tulips. What can I say my husband is awesome… don’t tell him that I’d never hear the end of it. We had been heading off post when I suddenly became ill. I’m not sure what caused it but he agreed to drop me off back at the house and continue on with just him and the boy. When he got home an hour or so later I was gifted with gorgeous tulips in a sunset orange.

All just because I wasn’t filling well and he wanted to cheer me up.

As the week progressed and I started to feel better I decided that they needed to be transplanted. Store bought plants are notorious for being root bound. I had been thinking for a few weeks now about turning an old watering can that leaks into a pot. The fact that it leaks means I wouldn’t need to worry about drilling holes for drainage or the soil molding.

Check out my repurposed watering can!

Not only do my tulips have a new, larger, home but my can has a new purpose. While the fact that the can is saved from a landfill is nice my reason is more practical; I didn’t have to buy a pot!

The tulips would have looked better if the wind hadn’t stolen all of the petals during transplanting. No matter. I’ll dry out the bulbs when the season is over and put them back in the can next year.

Of course I still have to buy a new watering can…

About Marcia Young

I’m the wife of an NCO and the mother of one, home schooled, special needs child. I have won several people’s choice awards for my fanfiction under the moniker MLMonty. All of my current published works can be found via Smashwords and other retailers under my nom de plume Marcia Young. I am currently open to finding a new literary agent and publisher.
This entry was posted in General Ramblings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

