Plastic Bag Dispenser

I was in desperate need of a plastic bag dispenser. Yes, a desperate need. These things were all over my pantry floor. As anyone who saves plastic grocer bags knows they can get out of hand quickly. So I decided to try my hand at making one using old yarn. I also decided to try yet another Marcia Young original pattern. Lets see how badly I failed this time shall we? 😀

I’m not good with gauges so I ditched it this time around since it really isn’t essential. I tend to think in measurements not in rows and stitches so the lack of a gauge is best for me when possible. I also made the pattern very adaptable to suit the individual crafters’ needs.

The yarn used may be changed as desired I used left over Amazing for mine. The amount of yarn used will be determined not only by the size you make but by the type of yarn used. I’m very tempted to make another out of crochet thread just to see the differences. 😉

It is possible the the decrease used is known by another name. When trying to decide on my pattern I came across this in the Artamo Crochet Book. It seems to be a variation of T2TOG. Personally I like this variation better.

Materials:

Yarn – one skein or less

Hook J

2 old hair ties

Stitch markers

Yarn needle

Gauge:

Not essential

Finished size:

Determined by crafter

Note:

Make sure the top opening is large enough to comfortably fit your hand through while filling the bag.

If a hair tie has lost too much elasticity twist the tie around once folding it double then sc over it to make it the desired size.

Inverted Treble Crochet Cluster- ITC:

With starting loop already on hook, YO2 insert hook into st pull up a loop, YO, draw through 2 loops, YO, insert hook in next st pull up a loop, 5 loops on hook,  continue YO and drawing through 2 loops at a time till only 1 loop remains

Pattern:

SC around an old hair tie completely covering it, ss into 1st sc, place stitch marker’s as needed for easy counting and at the beginning of round. Make sure you end on an even number.

Round 1: Ch 3, (counts as 1st dc) dc into next st, continue till end of round, ss into top of ch 3

Round 2: Ch 5, (counts as 1tr and ch1), ITC in next st, tr in next st, ch 1, repeat till end of round, ss into 4th ch of ch 5

*remember the ITC is a decrease and takes up 2 sts*

Round 3: Ch 3, (counts as dc) dc in every st, ss into 3rd ch

Round 4: Repeat 2-3 until bag measures desired length

Round 5: Ch 1, sc around the hair tie, ss into ch 1, bind off

Handle:

SS into a sc on the top of the bag, ch to desired length and ss into sc halfway around the top opening and bind off.
Finish:

Weave in ends.

About Marcia Young

I’m the wife of an active duty Army NCO and the mother of one, home schooled, special needs child. I have won several people’s choice awards for my fanfiction under the moniker MLMonty. All of my current published works can be found via Smashwords and other retailers under my nom de plume Marcia Young. I am currently open to finding a new literary agent and publisher.
This entry was posted in Marcia Young Patterns and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Plastic Bag Dispenser

  1. Me says:

    Looks good! I have never seen a crocheted one before.

    • marciayoung says:

      I figured it couldn’t be too hard. I found a few on Ravelry but none were what I wanted; especially since I needed one I can just use leftover yarn for.

  2. Crafty, clever and so very useful. Thank you for sharing!

    • Marcia Young says:

      NP. I actually overfilled mine and plan on making another with thread… eventually.

      Feel free to show your appreciation of me posting free patterns by pimping my fantasy series. 😉 LOL

Leave a Reply

