Clones Necklace

At my base’s Arts and Crafts Center they have a new craft shop. It’s only open a few hours a week and it’s small but you can find the random treasure. This time I found a bag of 20 small lobster claws for under 2$. They just begged to be brought home.

Playing around I came up with this:

I can only share my pattern to a certain point, however. For the rest of the pattern you need the book Clones Lace, 2nd Edition, Maire Treanor. I have no desire to step on anyone’s copyright toes anymore than I’d want someone stepping on mine.

So here’s what I can share.

Yarn: Aunt Lydia’s Classic Crochet Thread, Size 10

Hook: 1.15mm steel

Extras: small lobster claw, Clones Lace by Maire Treanor

Gauge: Not essential

Note: A variation would be to make the edging around the entire foundation chain instead of just using three. You would not be required to bind off after joining the chain to the claw. You’d simply ss or sc 15 spaces then make your first edge.

Row one: Slip your hook through the hole of the claw. Make a sc foundation chain 21″ long. (Approx: 155sc) Slip your hook through the last hole of the claw fasten off.

Row two: Take the number of stitches of your chain subtract 45 and divide by half. (Example: 155-45/2=70) SS into the appropriate ch from clasp.

*Make a Ten Looped Edging (page 100) working 1st row back toward the nearest clasp. That way you end the edge going toward the opposite clasp.

SS 15 sts then begin a new edge* Make three edges in all, bind off.

Row three: Make two Scrolls (page 101)

Attach the scrolls between the 1st and 2nd edge and the 2nd and 3rd edge. Do so by SS into the top inside picot of the outside edge, the opposite picot of the inside edge and the bottom two picots to secure them in place.

Happy Experimenting! 🙂

About Marcia Young

I’m the wife of an active duty Army NCO and the mother of one, home schooled, special needs child. I have won several people’s choice awards for my fanfiction under the moniker MLMonty. All of my current published works can be found via Smashwords and other retailers under my nom de plume Marcia Young. I am currently open to finding a new literary agent and publisher.
This entry was posted in Clones Lace and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Clones Necklace

  1. daniellajoe says:

    I love clones lace 🙂

    • marciayoung says:

      Yeah, it’s really pretty. I still suck at it but I’ve only been doing it off and on since July.

    • cloneslace says:

      Hi girls
      I reading through your notes and tickled that you’re using my book as your reference point. However I have a few questions for you.
      What do you mean by small lobster claws? Being Irish, I don’t understand the lingo! Anybody who has problems with the Packing cord should get my dvd on Irish Crochet and Clones Lace. It shows you how to work round the packing cord. When I get time, I should film myself and put it up on Youtube! I love your Clones Lace necklace!
      Máire

      • cloneslace says:

        Btw, Marcia, where is your base? When I’m in the States this summer I might be in the same town. I’d love to see your center!
        I’ll be Manchester NH, perhaps Boston, Lafayette LA, Atlanta GA, perhaps Seattle, perhaps Denver CO, Arlington Heights North Illinois and Lacis Berkeley SFO.

      • marciayoung says:

        I know the feeling about being tickled when someone refers to your work. I always gets kinda giggly when someone tells me they read my books. 🙂

        A lobster claw is the name of the type of closure on necklaces or bracelets. It looks like well… a lobster claw. It’s the little tiny silver bit in the picture. I’m really not sure what they’re called out side of the US.

      • marciayoung says:

        Due to security reasons I’m unwilling to name where we live. Feel free to email me at MLMonty20@gmail.com and I’ll tell you via email. I’d love to see how close you get to me! Few people come to this base since it’s a bit remote but there ARE large cities near by.

  2. daniellajoe says:

    Hello, check out my post for today 4/22 in the comment section 🙂

Leave a Reply

