He Made The List!

Every year thousands of military personnel await for the dreaded much anticipated list of promotables. Just like in the civilian world being promoted is a big deal. It means more responsibility, more money and more prestige. Over all it’s a good thing. The list that’s released is a conglomerate of everyone of a certain rank who is potentially promotable.

For example take E6’s who have the required number of time in as an E6. They have the potential to be promoted. From here there are a ton of mitigating factors. What have you done to screw up? What have you done that’s noteworthy? Do you have the experience to raise a rank and lead more people?

There’s an entire packet of information that has to be correctly filled out. Even little things like a current photo can throw you out of the running.

This years list of Active Duty Army going from SSG to SFC was six pages long.

But don’t be fooled. Not everyone on that list is going to be promoted.

That’s why its release is met with as much dread as anticipation. Six pages of names and only those with a sequence number next to them make rank. The sequence number tells you when it’s your turn to be promoted. If you’re number 15 for your job then there are 14 others before you who either have to be promoted, leave the Army, change jobs or in some way be removed from the list.

I saw numbers over 600 just for on MOS.

Just making the list is cause for a lot of excitement and pride.

Now imagine my surprise when my husband tells me that he made the list for his rank.

No I’m not surprised he’s getting promoted. I’m surprised he’s eligible for promotion! Why? Because he told me he wasn’t eligible till next year! Even the month of the cut off date that you had to have all of your I’s dotted and T’s crossed he was telling me that he wasn’t even sure he wanted to go up in rank. He was thinking about switching from enlisted solider to a warrant officer. At least that was the story he was giving me.

Lets just say my husband was intensely smug the whole day. He kept going on and on about how he got it on the first try. He kept going on about how people he hadn’t even told (but who checked the list for people they knew like I did for the E6-7 list) were congratulating him.

I may have been one of the three people he actually told, but I was one of the last to know!

He broke it to me this way:

“My chest is going to get heavier.”

“Chest?” I was very confused. Was he talking his chest as in his chest or as in a locker?

“I made the promotions list. I’m going to up a rank.”

Sadly this is not the first time he’s pulled something like this. The last time he got promoted I got a picture via email from Iraq of his uniform lying on his cot. Trust me it took me a second to figure out what I was supposed to be looking at.

Despite my husband’s need for secrecy and love of shocking me I’m proud of him.

He deserves to be smug for a day or two.

Everyone who made it to promotable status deserves to be a bit smug.

About Marcia Young

I’m the wife of an NCO and the mother of one, home schooled, special needs child. I have won several people’s choice awards for my fanfiction under the moniker MLMonty. All of my current published works can be found via Smashwords and other retailers under my nom de plume Marcia Young. I am currently open to finding a new literary agent and publisher.
This entry was posted in General Ramblings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to He Made The List!

  1. Me says:

    The sequences are out for next month. Is he in that batch? My hubby saw that half of those promotable for his MOS are in for next month, there were 100 total. I am excited for your family and mine. It makes my chest puff out a little as I am proud of what they do and what they have accomplished. Have fun ripping that old rank off and punching the new one on. 🙂

  2. marciayoung says:

    Only five for this month and he’s 26. So we’re looking at Oct/Sept. There were only like 36-40ish who got a number. Apparently my husband STILL hasn’t decided if he’s happy with his new rank. He might switch from NCO to Warrant still. He’s happy about the pay raise he’ll get when it does happen though. 🙂 We plan on having Nate rip and punch the ranks. That boy’s a ham so he’ll enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

