Coasters

Lately I’ve been spending my mornings on the back porch reading or crocheting a cover for my table. After a while I realized that all those Clones Lace pieces I had made as I worked my way through the book weren’t enough. I needed more pieces. Then I decided I needed coasters. We’re actually outside quit a bit; as our frequent sunburns and tans can attest to.

This is what I came up with to add to the table cloth.

I made one on the round and one spiral.

Spiral is on the left and rounds is on the right.

Copy Right Info: I own all rights to the pattern and it may not be altered and or sold in any way. You are free to use the products made from the pattern as you see fit.

Coaster

Materials:

Hook: 1.15 mm

Yarn: Aunt Lydia’s Classic Crochet Thread, Size 10

Gauge: finished coaster is 4″

Pattern: To make it in a spiral omit the beginning chs and make your 1st st of the new row into the 1st of the last row

Row 1: Make a magic loop and sc 6, ss into 1st sc, ch 3 (beginning ch counts as 1st st throughout pattern)

Row 2: 2DC in every sc, ss into 2nd ch, ch 3 (12sts)

Row 3: 3DC in next st, ch 1, sk 1, repeat, ss into ch 3, ch 4 (6 clusters, 6chs) (remember your beginning chs count as 1st st when you start!)

Row 4: Tr in next two sts, 2 tr in same st, repeat, ss into 4th ch, ch 3 (42sts)

Row 5-6: Repeat rows 3-4 one time

Row 7-8: sc every st, ss into 2nd ch, ch 2 (112 sts)

Finish: bind off as normal.

Notes: If you find the coaster is looking like it’s making waves take out sts. If you find it’s bowling like a hat add sts. Pressing the coasters after making them will help to flatten them out. Whatever yarn you use make sure it’s absorbent.

They also look lovely framed and stuck to windows.

Happy experimenting!

About Marcia Young

I’m the wife of an active duty Army NCO and the mother of one, home schooled, special needs child. I have won several people’s choice awards for my fanfiction under the moniker MLMonty. All of my current published works can be found via Smashwords and other retailers under my nom de plume Marcia Young. I am currently open to finding a new literary agent and publisher.
This entry was posted in Marcia Young Patterns and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

