Busy Schedules

As if our schedule isn’t full enough we managed to add to it.

I often find that like most people what I should be doing gets pushed to the back burner in favor of what I want to do. Idle is something I’m not despite first glance. It would seem as if all I do is laze around the house. In actuality I spend a lot of time on my obsession, crocheting. Since I’m me I couple this obsession with other things like reading or gaming as I’m crocheting. I take my crocheting with me everywhere.

Yes, I mean everywhere. I take it to my son’s gymnastics class, to homeschool meetings, doctor appointments, restaurants; you name it my crocheting has been there.

What I should be doing is finish typing up what I have of The Nostradamus Effect and working on Book 3. During the move I lost a huge chunk of the short story I was writing. Recently I found it and began typing it up. Things I’m working on often get pushed to the back burner in favor of new more shinny obsessions; crocheting.

My son thankfully doesn’t seem to suffer from this malady. He’s just plain lazy. He’s also 9 going on 18. If it’s not a video game he’s not interested. Thankfully he’s breaking up the video game regime with gymnastics. He’s been doing it for years and plans to compete once he makes it to Level 3. He has visions of Olympic Gold dancing though his head.

Our current week is pretty full. We start off with Monday and balance his online charter school with attending the homeschool meeting. Tuesday is just online school. Wednesday is coupled with gymnastics. Thursday has the farmer’s market while Friday is simply schoolwork. Saturday and Sundays normally find us out as a family.

Now we’ve added an art class. The class offered is themed and every month is different. This month was Wheel-Thrown Pottery and Hand Built Clay. Next month is paper crafting and we’ll skip that one and attend again in June for Sculpey Clay.

The schedule doesn’t seem like much… until you look at hours per day. He has to do a mandatory 4 hours of lessons a day, plus another 2-4hrs of live online classes. Then add in the hour for gymnastics on Wednesdays, at least an hour for the farmer’s market on Thursdays, two hours (or more) for the homeschool meeting on Mondays, and now the hour and a half for art on Thursdays.

His ‘play time’ is falling to the wayside as is my work time; obsessions come before work! It’s hard to begrudge my only child though the two things he’s passionate about; gymnastics and art. I could no more deny him his vices than I could deny myself writing and crocheting.

Besides he’s pretty decent at both.

Hand built bowl

He also just did his first gymnastics demonstration. His previous gyms didn’t offer those opportunities.

He’s the only boy in the picture dead center.

Over all despite that it feels like by the time I blink the week is over I’m pleased. I don’t want my son growing up only being able to communicate while looking down. I also want to encourage him to reach for his stars even knowing that he might never grasp them.

Sometimes reaching for things difficult to obtain is more important than obtaining them.

About Marcia Young

I’m the wife of an active duty Army NCO and the mother of one, home schooled, special needs child. I have won several people’s choice awards for my fanfiction under the moniker MLMonty. All of my current published works can be found via Smashwords and other retailers under my nom de plume Marcia Young. I am currently open to finding a new literary agent and publisher.
This entry was posted in General Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Busy Schedules

  1. Me says:

    It is great you have him so active! We keep wanting to get our oldest into more activities, but our budget is not allowing that right now.

Leave a Reply

