Tips and Tricks

Growing up I was the only one out of my parents and sister who wasn’t dyslexic. For some bizarre reason it skipped me and hit my son hard. He has visual and auditory dyslexia as well as dysgraphia.

And while it did skip me that isn’t to say that I didn’t need to learn which way things went. All kids take a while to figure out which way to make their 5’s, 7’s, what have you, and which is a b and which is a d.

So in honor of my son and family I decided to share the way I taught myself the b’s and d’s. As, I think, I said previously I taught myself to read and write by the time I was two.

I did what I’m good at; I made up a story; kinda.

The little b is a good child and always follows this mom; B b

The little d is always fighting with his dad; D d

I used to picture the d’s arguing and in my more flighty moments I’d even make up little arguments they’d have. The visualization of the D’s fighting and B’s happily going on their way to a park ignoring the D family making a scene helped me keep them straight.

The second thing I wanted to share was the ‘I’ and ‘Me’ rule. Improper grammar bugs me. Nothing is more annoying then reading something, normally online, and seeing one character of a story use I correctly only to have a second character correct them incorrectly. So I thought I’d share the way I kept them straight as a kid.

The first part is easy enough. You use I and Me as if no one is around.

Example:

I went to the store. Who will help me?

Susan and I went to the store. Who will help me and Mary?

Who goes first? That’s easy as well.

I is polite and always goes last, while Me is selfish and demands to be first.

About Marcia Young

I’m the wife of an active duty Army NCO and the mother of one, home schooled, special needs child. I have won several people’s choice awards for my fanfiction under the moniker MLMonty. All of my current published works can be found via Smashwords and other retailers under my nom de plume Marcia Young. I am currently open to finding a new literary agent and publisher.
This entry was posted in General Ramblings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tips and Tricks

  1. Me says:

    Neat! I will have to teach the I and me trick to Zack. He always says, “Me did it.” It drives me up the wall, but I know he is only three and does not quite get the intricacies of our language yet.

    • Marcia Young says:

      There are ADULTS who can’t keep it straight. Unless they speak English as a 2nd language they have NO excuse.

      These tips are just things I made up as a kid to help myself but if it helps others all the better.

Leave a Reply

