Reusable Baby Wipes

Reusable baby wipes… as gifts? Well, I guess. My friend certainly seemed happy enough when I offered to assist in making some for her. As I was finishing up the baby cocoon she texted me and asked how she should make them. I had no idea. I’d never even heard of reusable baby wipes. She calls it Going Crunchy. Well, yes I imagine that once you get around to washing those things it’ll be quite crunchy.

My son is ten now and like all things in life even baby stuff comes and goes. When my monster was little, disposable everything was in style. You couldn’t find a baby cocoon if you tried and I certainly didn’t know where to look nor that they existed. According to my mom when I was little baby cocoons and reusable everything were the in-thing.

My friend wanted to know if she should make the wipes one or two ply. So I did what any good friend would do; I asked the elderly cashier. She gave me a great idea instead of sewing two pieces of flannel together on all sides leave a side open so you can slip your hand in.

Though she did ask for 5% of any sales if we started making them for a business. 🙂

When I got home from the commissary I offered to help my friend with making them since she was battling her Singer. I dug around my stash of clothes and found purple velor, don’t judge, and bug laden flannel.

I managed to make five in total before I got distracted by other projects. Three are made with pockets, one with a reversible pocket and one made normally. I just used my hand as a sizing guide; an inch longer than my hand and two inches wider than the widest part of my palm.

Apparently, however, you do not use them as is. You spray them with a water melaluca mixture to combat yeast. Again I had no idea, but I wish had when Nate was little. Think of the money I could have saved!

About Marcia Young

I’m the wife of an NCO and the mother of one, home schooled, special needs child. I have won several people’s choice awards for my fanfiction under the moniker MLMonty. All of my current published works can be found via Smashwords and other retailers under my nom de plume Marcia Young. I am currently open to finding a new literary agent and publisher.
This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Reusable Baby Wipes

  1. Me says:

    Hehe, the crunchy movement is “granola”, meaning getting back to the natural way of doing things and Earth friendly ways of doing things. Thanks for traveling along so me as I dive head first into it.

Leave a Reply

