Struggling

For the last few weeks we’ve been struggling. Not financially but with a new realization. We’ve always known our son was thin. We’ve had doctor after doctor tell us not to worry it’s probably a combination of genetics and lifestyle. Our son is active, has ADHD and both my husband and my self were tiny till we hit 30. At 19 I weighted 115lbs and at 18 my husband weighted 118lbs.

So should we worry about a 9yr old who weighs 50lbs?

I do. Every time I take him to the doctor I ask about his weight. “Has he lost any? Is he a healthy weight?”

Normally I’m told he’s thin but not to worry. I’ll always worry I’m his mom.

I started noticing recently that he’s getting a little too thin. It’s gotten so bad that one of the workers, at the CDC he has gymnastics at, asked if he was getting enough food at home after she touched his shoulder. I’m sure you can read the implied censor there.

When we went to get his meds refilled I asked the nurse again. She said she’d pull up his charts. Only we found he’s dropped down to the 0 percentile. Zero. He was at 5% previously. He’s lost 6.2lbs in 6 months. That doesn’t seem like a lot until you realize that a even at 56.2lbs he’s under weight.

When the doctor came in I brought it up. I mentioned that I could see his ribs though his back, his spine and even his shoulder joints were protruding now. Thankfully the doctor understood. He’s not a large man either. He also understood that my son was too thin. I praise God this doctor didn’t brush my concerns off.

Immediately after the appointment I went and requested a change in my son’s PCM to that doctor. If it doesn’t go through I’ll simply ask for him every time. A good doctor is hard to find.

We now have to go back every month for my son to get weighed. If he drops any more weight we’ll have to find a child psychologist to change his meds. But to what? He already built up a tolerance to the only thing on the market that isn’t supposed to suppress his appetite. The one he’s on now is only supposed to suppress it slightly. Obviously it does more than that.

I’m praying that if he can’t gain weight he doesn’t lose any more. There’s something heartbreaking to see a child this thin.

About Marcia Young

I’m the wife of an NCO and the mother of one, home schooled, special needs child. I have won several people’s choice awards for my fanfiction under the moniker MLMonty. All of my current published works can be found via Smashwords and other retailers under my nom de plume Marcia Young. I am currently open to finding a new literary agent and publisher.
This entry was posted in General Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Struggling

  1. daniellajoe says:

    Hi Marcia, I hear you, but you said he is doing gymnastics, that uses a lot of energy, like sports, and he is all muscles. My son has played sports since he was almost 5 yrs until now, they don’t have a lot of body fat. Please ask a pediatrician if he can drink Ensure or one of those drinks 3 or 4 times a day as a snack and see if that helps him gain back some weight…hope this helps…plus milkshakes

    • Marcia Young says:

      He’s always done gymnastics but we’ve never had this weight problem before. Gymnastics is only an hr a wk. He’s the only 9yr old I know with a 6pack LOL He’s down to 49lbs now. I’m highly tempted to take him off of meds all together. Anything that affects the brain has me wary. I’ll be talking to the doctor this week. His meds aren’t even working right anymore so they need to be upped but since he’s already losing weight that’s not a good idea. Hopefully the doctor has an idea.

Leave a Reply

