My ‘New’ Pots

As I said before in my family reusing items isn’t about saving the environment or conserving or any other fad that’s currently going around. It’s about saving money. The Earth will take care of itself. It’s human egotism that makes us think we can ‘destroy’ the Earth and ‘save’ it. Don’t get me wrong my family loves nature and doesn’t believe in wasting things; be it man made or natural.

My grandmother was much, much worse about saving. She could have taught Scrooge a thing or two. I understand that she was born in 1920 or earlier; but seriously I don’t know anyone else who reuses aluminum foil or washes paper towels to use again.

So when my mom was telling me she was planning to start selling things with her best friend and one of my sisters at fairs we got to brainstorming. She’s huge into up-cycling, upscaling, refurbing, whatever you name it. It’s only natural since it’s something we were taught from the cradle. As we were brainstorming we got onto another of her fav topics; plants. We had hit on the idea of taking regular household items and making them into designer pots.

While my talent doesn’t match my mother’s this is an easy project with items that are cheap and you might even have them at home.

Items needed:

Bed risers

Spray paint

Drill

First off I got lucky. My neighbor was having a yard sale and when I hung up with my mom I went across the street to check it out for items that I could make into pots. I found bed risers. 3$ for all four I scored 4 pots in the making.

Prep your area so that you don’t end up spraying your cement or yard a new color. Make sure your area is also well ventilated and that you’re using a spray paint that’s compatible to plastic.

The next step is to drill holes for drainage on the bottom. If you don’t have a drill handy, or forgot how to put the bits in, you can use a nail and hammer. Just be warned it’s a lot harder than it sounds. The plastic is surprisingly thick.

Drill, or pound, three to four holes for adequate drainage. Next is the fun part. Spray paint! Spray the whole thing! Have fun with it. If you have stencils, use em! Make ’em, like I did, if you don’t have any. I used items around the house and copied them onto those cheap clear plastic paper protectors.

IMG_0647Since my son is going to be 10 in June I let him have a hand at painting them. He did a good job! This mommy’s thrifty heart is proud. When all was said and done I was left with four new planters.

The total cost for me was 3$ for the raisers, and 5$ for each can of paint equaling a total of 13$ for four ‘new’ planters.

 

 

About Marcia Young

I’m the wife of an active duty Army NCO and the mother of one, home schooled, special needs child. I have won several people’s choice awards for my fanfiction under the moniker MLMonty. All of my current published works can be found via Smashwords and other retailers under my nom de plume Marcia Young. I am currently open to finding a new literary agent and publisher.
This entry was posted in General Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

