Learning from Life and Yarn

In life you can learn many things from seemingly ordinary trials. Take this yarn for example. It’s a beautiful yarn I got for a late Christmas present from my dad. I’ve been eagerly wanting to make something from it and when I needed a break from the pineapple motifs of the Coogee Bay Dress I jumped at it.

It took five minutes for everything to go horrifyingly wrong. Just like in life a few minutes of distraction can lead to catastrophe. In life it can cause grievous bodily harm or even death to be distracted at the wrong time and place. A child left alone too young can easily die if they eat something you didn’t even know was there; all in the space of time it takes you to go to another room to find your ringing cell phone.

Luckily in my case I only ended up with this after several hours of trying to find a way out of my own Gordian Knot.

I’ve often said that I could teach a mule a thing or two about stubborn. While the above was after four hours the following was after a few days of working on it almost continuously.

Even here you can see the yarn poking out in the left hand corner behind my dog’s head. Yes, I do sit like this often when at my desk.

Just over a week later and multiple offers from my husband to play Alexander I’m ready to call it quits. While perseverance is to be admired there comes a time to reevaluate the situation.

I refused to allow my husband’s method choosing to try alternate methods first. Every time you cut yarn you lose a few inches in adding new yarn and I stubbornly wanted all 1000 yards. At some point I had decided I’d get more done if I found the other end of the yarn and followed that back to the ball.

The ball had grown far too large to pass through the loops I could pull up. After a while even the ‘rainbow turd’ as I had started to call it began to be too big. The poor yarn had begun to knot so badly it was securely locked and even beginning to felt from the friction, the start of monsoon season and the 90+ degree heat.

The trick to life is to constantly keep your eye on the goal. My goal was unwinding that yarn; preferably without cutting it. However, it’s important not to become blinded by the method and refuse to look for alternate ways of achieving your goal. There is never just one way to accomplish something.

Like my husband’s friend said when he saw me trying to unwind it at their company’s family fun day, “It takes someone special to do that.” My husband only reiterated it a week later with a less polite, “You’re insane” after I made him assist me for a few minutes.

Now, however, my preferred method of achieving my goal is failing me and it’s time to go Alexander on it. Still, I’m happy with what I did accomplish with my method, and being happy with your choices in life is important for a happy life.

About Marcia Young

I’m the wife of an active duty Army NCO and the mother of one, home schooled, special needs child. I have won several people’s choice awards for my fanfiction under the moniker MLMonty. All of my current published works can be found via Smashwords and other retailers under my nom de plume Marcia Young. I am currently open to finding a new literary agent and publisher.
This entry was posted in General Ramblings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Learning from Life and Yarn

  1. Jon D. Montgomery says:

    Well, when we sent it ,it didn’t have any “special” knots in it. Blame the dog, he won’t mind. Next time it’ll be 2k of yarn. (evil laugh).

Leave a Reply

