Legotastic!

It was exhausting! My son wanted to go to Legoland for his tenth birthday. Tenth birthdays are big in the US Military. It’s the age you get your first dependent ID. When you turn ten you are now responsible for things like using your ID to check into the doctor, pick up your own prescriptions and you have to show it to buy stuff at the commissary and PX. It’s a big deal for a kid.

We told him previously that his poor behavior had lost him a trip to Legoland. We also told him that his dad wanted to go to San Diego so he could go to the beach. We packed our new Prius V5 and headed out. It was an exhausting drive. Legoland is nowhere near us. We passed through a section of Arizona that might have been Saguaro National Park… or it might have just been a lot of Saguaro. Either way it was pretty and hot.

I took this while my husband was driving through a 75mph zone. It took more than one try to get a good pic!

At some points temperatures reached a scorching 109 on the trip there. Thankfully on the return trip through Arizona it was a chill 104. It was certainly interesting going from triple digit temps to the upper sixties in San Diego. Since we live in a desert ourselves where it’s in the nineties I felt positively cold. Until I got sunburned!

When we finally arrived in San Diego I realized my mom was right. Traffic was horrible. It took over an hour to travel 17miles on the interstate. We were extremely thankful to reach the Sheraton in one piece.

Legoland itself was lovely. We enjoyed taking Nate to the ‘beach’. Even the staff at the Sheraton was in on the prank. Nate was absolutely thrilled when he finally saw our destination.

We spent over seven hours there on the first day and over four the second day. I was so burnt! I underestimated the sun since it was such chilly weather. The top of my head is the worst where it burned my scalp through my thin hair. I’ll be more careful in the future.

Here are some pics of the areas we traveled through and from Legoland!

Some place near a rest stop in CA

 

somewhere in CA

 

More CA

Legoland had a lot more than I anticipated. The boys had been to the one in Germany and had a good time but from what they said it didn’t have nearly as much as this one.

I refuse to learn how much my husband spent on this trip. All I know was that it went over what I’d like to have spent by a ton. It was worth it, however. It was a great family experience and there was a ton to do.

We also came home with a ton of Legos we didn’t need but the boys couldn’t live without.

About Marcia Young

I’m the wife of an active duty Army NCO and the mother of one, home schooled, special needs child. I have won several people’s choice awards for my fanfiction under the moniker MLMonty. All of my current published works can be found via Smashwords and other retailers under my nom de plume Marcia Young. I am currently open to finding a new literary agent and publisher.
This entry was posted in General Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

