Simple Crochet Purse

I wanted it to be a hat; it however had a different plan. During our too long drive to Legoland I had brought along my yarn; of course. When I wasn’t sleeping or driving I was crocheting. So while it started out as a semi scrumble hat it became something else.

I like this open closed pattern it reminds me of a beach bag; though your keys and other loose items might get snagged. This bag has a simple draw string closure.

This one is small, just the size for a small handbag, but as usual my patterns are highly customizable. To make it larger just add more rounds to the bottom for a wider bag or more rounds to the top for a taller bag.

Yarn: sock weight

Hook: size 7/ 4.5mm

Gauge: not essential

Finished Size:

Bottom: 3″

Row one: ch 4 join together

Row two: two sc in every st

Row three: two sc in every 3rd sc; 1, 1, 2

Row four-five:  two sc in every 4th sc; 1, 1, 1, 2

Row six: two dc in every 4th sc

Sides: 11″

The following rows 1-4 are repeated until desired height ending on row three.

Row one: dc in 1st dc, ch 1, sk 1 dc, dc in dc, ect

Row two-three: sc in every st and ch

Row four: dc in every sc

Row five: trb in next four sc, ch 4, sk 4 sc, trb in next 4 sc, ect

Row six-seven: sc in every trb and ch.

Bind off.

Ties:

Make a dc foundation chain as long as desired. Weave the tie through the openings of the trb row. Pull purse to close!

 

About Marcia Young

I’m the wife of an NCO and the mother of one, home schooled, special needs child. I have won several people’s choice awards for my fanfiction under the moniker MLMonty. All of my current published works can be found via Smashwords and other retailers under my nom de plume Marcia Young. I am currently open to finding a new literary agent and publisher.
This entry was posted in Marcia Young Patterns and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Simple Crochet Purse

  1. Love the yarn you’ve used! =D

Leave a Reply

