Water Bouquet

I love old crochet patterns. The older the better. So while perusing an old crochet book from 1886 I came across the section on home decor. Fancy Work Recreations: a Complete Guide to Knitting, Crochet and Home Adornment is an interesting read that can be found online for free; be warned, however, not only is the speech difficult to follow at times there are massive formatting errors in it.

SAM_0559One of the things that stood out was a water bouquet. For this unique project you’ll need:

  • flowers, grasses, ect
  • decorative rocks
  • thread, fishing line, ect something thin but sturdy
  • a flat plate
  • a vase or jar large enough to cover your bouquet completely
  • water
  • a basin, tub or sink that will allow you to completely cover the bouquet in water and position the vase over it all while submerged.

According to the instructions this type of adornment is good for sick rooms, drawing-room, boudoir and table placements. I’m sure you can think of something creative that gets lots of light to really show off your work.

Making it is a little frustrating but once you get the hang of it it’s not that bad. To start off you need to make your bouquet. Once made take your thread and tie it around the bouquet and then to a rock. Try to find a rock heavy enough to keep the arrangement grounded in the water, a little irregular in size so the thread doesn’t slip off and still small enough to be hidden in the stems. Not easy for everyone but I’m sure you can find something that will work out for you.

Fill up your sink and have the extra rocks, plate and jar ready to go.

This part will frustrate you a bit so have some patience. You’re going to submerge the plate and flowers underwater completely. Arrange them on the plate and use the rocks to help anchor the flowers and make it look ‘so that everything may appear as growing naturally beneath the water’.

Once you have everything ready you’re going to submerge whatever piece of glass you found at an angle to that you don’t get any air bubbles. Take it and put it over the flowers.

Do not be surprised to find that all your hard work to arrange the flowers just got shifted by the water’s movement. It probably took me a good half hour to figure things out and all I was doing was experimenting with a dry marigold!

Once the jar is over your flowers and you’re happy with it you can remove the plate from the water. The plate and jar will be suctioned together preventing the water from coming out due to the changes in pressure. Leave a little water on the plate though to help out with keeping the pressure firm.

I highly recommend trying it out on a small scale before moving on to a full size bouquet. Since I don’t really have flowers I plan to purchase some cheap silk flowers to experiment with. Maybe the Dollar General has some? All I have are plants that function like mint, marigold, rosemary, ect.

The book claims that an arrangement of fresh flowers lasts about four days. It’s also recommended to use only a few items in the jar since the water will distort the image making it appear larger than it is.

SAM_0558

My stone shouldn’t be as large as it is and my flower shouldn’t be floating as much but I’m sure as I experiment I’ll get it down.

About Marcia Young

I’m the wife of an NCO and the mother of one, home schooled, special needs child. I have won several people’s choice awards for my fanfiction under the moniker MLMonty. All of my current published works can be found via Smashwords and other retailers under my nom de plume Marcia Young. I am currently open to finding a new literary agent and publisher.
This entry was posted in General Ramblings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

