Swiffer Wet Jet Reusable Pad

Goofing off on Ravelry I came across a pattern for a reusable Swiffer pad. I thought to myself, ‘well that’s awfully handy’. I still have the disposable Swiffer pads so I didn’t need any right now but I was out of the ones for the Wet Jet. Well, obviously that needed to be solved.

The Wet Jet has a different head then the standard Swiffer so I couldn’t use the pattern I found and I was too lazy to do a search for it. It wasn’t hard though to come up with something on my own.

I chose Tunisian crochet since it’s a sturdy type of crochet and I like doing it. I figured the tight weave would assist in picking up dirt as well. Keep in mind though that it tends to curl as well as shrink until blocked.

Yarn: sock yarn (or left over yarn)

Gauge: not essential

Hook: H8/5mm Tunisian crochet hook or interchangable hook

Finished size: 5 inches wide 11 inches long

Notes: The bottom of the Wet Jet Swiffer is lined with velcro allowing you to simply stretch your pad out and attach it to the velcro. The straps are optional. I find that they help but aren’t entirely necessary. When one side is dirty rip off and flip over so you can wash with both sides. You’ll know when it’s time to toss it in the wash (or flip the pad) when it starts to leave streaks.

SAM_0570Row one: ch 6 inches then ch 2 more.

Row two: sc into 2nd ch and to the end.

 

SAM_0569

 

Row three to 2 1/2 inches: use Tunisian simple stitch. Once you complete your return row at 2 1/2 inches chain 20 and sc into the top of the 1st Tss. Ch 3 and Dc in every ch back to the beginning. Leaving that loop on your hook begin your next row of forward Tss. When you get the end you’ll notice your strap is on a little thread instead of sturdy like the other end. Pick up your last loop through the side of the ch 3 you made. Then make your return row.

Row 2 1/2 to row 8 1/2 inches: continue with Tss

Row 8 1/2 inches: repeat 2 1/2 inches to make another band.

Row 8 1/2 to 11 inches: Continue with Tss until you reach 11 inches. Finish with a row of Sc to reduce the curling.

Blocking: Normally I would insist that with Tunisian crochet the very nature of it demands to be aggressively blocked. That is certainly an option but since this is made to get dirty don’t feel obligated for a change.

SAM_0568Yeah, it picks up a lot of dirt. Make sure you still sweep or vacuum your floor first!

About Marcia Young

I’m the wife of an active duty Army NCO and the mother of one, home schooled, special needs child. I have won several people’s choice awards for my fanfiction under the moniker MLMonty. All of my current published works can be found via Smashwords and other retailers under my nom de plume Marcia Young. I am currently open to finding a new literary agent and publisher.
This entry was posted in Marcia Young Patterns and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Swiffer Wet Jet Reusable Pad

  1. Me says:

    I would seriously pay you to make a couple of these for me (Swiffer duster too). Then I just need to get the Wet Jet again and look up the homemade solution. 😀

Leave a Reply

