Avoiding Shopping Pitfalls

My male readers probably are going to ignore this post. I’d recommend at least skimming through it. That way if you want to buy clothes for someone in your life you know what to buy to guarantee they love it.

I’ve always thought I did well when shopping for clothing. I shop clearance and buy name brand items for a song. I recently bought a BCBG shirt for 20$. How could I not be a master of shopping?

I found I still have a lot to learn. I might know where the deals are but I lacked the knowledge to avoid a few shopping pit falls.

My first tidbit came from a lovely lady I know who’s fashion sense screams fashionista. When talking with her we got on the topic of saving money which led to shopping. For me the two are great bed partners.

She pointed out that at one time she was buying a new purse every month. We’re talking several hundred dollars a month spent on purses. She finally stopped when she noticed that some of them were only used once. For the next month she did an experiment. She placed every purse she used in a different location than the ones she hadn’t used that month. Heartbreakingly she found out she actually only used three purses out of her collection of nearly thirty. She made the difficult decision to sell the ones she didn’t use. She also worked hard on breaking the impulse to buy new ones. She restricted herself to only paying cash for new purses. It took her six months to save up enough for a new purse.

After realizing how much she was spending verses how much she was getting out of her purchases she decided to look at her wardrobe. This is the part that interested me. She found that out of her purchases of clothing she was always attracted to certain items. After taking a mental step back she examined why. My fashionista friend found that she was buying the exact same style of clothing over and over; just in trendier colors or patterns, depending on the season and what was offered. For example say you have leggings in five different colors or patterns or you have ten tunic shirts just slightly different designs.

I realized I was guilty of this as well. I have a ton of clothing I wear over and over but a limited amount I hardly ever wear. I have some Tru Trussardi shirts I hardly ever wear for fear of damaging them. What’s the purpose of owning them if I’m afraid to wear them? I love them but to do them justice I need to wear them more.

The next time I went shopping I made sure to buy at least one item that was outside my comfort zone, the BCBG, and actually wear it. I got plenty of compliments and was surprised. The sleeves are kinda poofy and too big for my taste but it went over well. I was afraid my broad shoulders and that fact that I’m fifteen pounds overweight would make me look even larger with the poofy sleeves.

A different friend of mine is more of an effortless beauty. Even in casual cloths with just makeup on she looks great. She knows what flatters her figure and makes it work. I had been telling her about my fashionista friend and what I had learned. She imparted her own pearl of wisdom.

She had recently decided to organize her closet by color and found that she owned a lot of black and purples clothing. Now she’s purposely avoiding buying in those colors.

I was shocked at the idea of organizing a closet by color. Mine is organized by type; short sleeve, quarter sleeves, ect. Sweaters are lumped in their own little area though. Don’t need those too much in the desert!

She got me thinking though. Am I guilty of the same? I haven’t reorganized my closet yet but it’s on the to-do list. Color then type seems the way to go. Do I have a surplus of black halter tops?

While it seems more about fashion this is about saving money too. If you know you have five black halter tops in your closet at home you know to avoid buying a sixth. With a little thought and self fashion examination you can save money by not buying what you already have or won’t use.

For my readers who are looking to buy clothing or accessories for gifts. Take a peek at your recipients wardrobe if possible. Find the color or style most prominent and go with that. It’s sure to be a hit!

After all they wouldn’t own a small mountain of purple sparkle mule shoes if they didn’t like them.

About Marcia Young

I’m the wife of an NCO and the mother of one, home schooled, special needs child. I have won several people’s choice awards for my fanfiction under the moniker MLMonty. All of my current published works can be found via Smashwords and other retailers under my nom de plume Marcia Young. I am currently open to finding a new literary agent and publisher.
This entry was posted in General Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

