Confessions of a Coupon Junkie

I admit I’ve started hoarding. I can’t help it.

Years ago I used to use coupons like mad. We were newly married living off of a lower enlisted salary. When Nate came along I used WIC. I only bought what we were going to USE and I stopped using it altogether once my husband got up a little more in rank. I figured there were those who needed it more than us and while some people maxed out their WIC every month I couldn’t bring myself to take advantage of the program like that.

When we moved to Arizona I slowly stopped using coupons as much. Living in Germany I ended up not using them all together. Lately though I’m practically an addict. I’m not as bad as some people. I haven’t started Extreme Couponing but what I do is addictive enough.

For those of you who want to save big there’s a tutorial at The Krazy Coupon Lady. These ladies will give you every tool you could ever need. I highly recommend their site if you want to see what all the hoopla is about.

I don’t have the room in my freezer for gallons of milk and bread. I’d have to buy a separate freezer for that and with as much as we move it isn’t worth it. I also still buy some foods while not on sale; milk, bread, Pediasure, things my husband and son ‘can’t live without’. When I can stock pile, I do.

My commissary frequently has sales on cereal; at least it seems that way. Recently both Chex and Cherrios were on sale for 1.75 a box. Normally for that size box it’s 3.32. In addition I coupled this sale with buy 2 get a 1$ off coupons. So far I’m up to 10 boxes of cereal for a grand total of 12.50$. That’s a savings of 20.7! That’s not pocket change.

My husband thinks I’m a hoarder and in a way he’s right. I’ve stock piled school supplies this year so I don’t have to pay full price later on down the road and now dry goods. He might make fun of me but he appreciates the fact that I’m saving money as long as we use what I buy.

If, however, we haven’t used that cereal, say about a month close to the ‘best used by’ date, I plan to donate it to local food drives. At 2.50 for two boxes I can afford to donate now and then.

Sadly my commissary doesn’t have a coupon exchange. However, what I did do was go though my coupons and pick out those that I was pretty sure I wasn’t going to use by the expiration date. Those lucky coupons I left at the front door by the free coffee. I’m hoping someone will pick them up and use them; especially since some of them give me 10 points through an online site I use. When I get enough points I can redeem it for a Starbucks gift card. 😉

I might be a coupon junkie but at prices nowadays for food who can afford not to be?

About Marcia Young

I’m the wife of an NCO and the mother of one, home schooled, special needs child. I have won several people’s choice awards for my fanfiction under the moniker MLMonty. All of my current published works can be found via Smashwords and other retailers under my nom de plume Marcia Young. I am currently open to finding a new literary agent and publisher.
This entry was posted in General Ramblings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

