The Weight Loss Battle

This is something I’ve never had to struggle with before. In my family we tend to be rather on the lean side. Except for one minor detail… once we hit our thirties we play catchup. I should have seen it coming. I really should have. Looking back my mom and grandma were thin till they hit their thirties. If I had been smarter than I would have seen the signs and readied myself. Instead I let it take my by surprise.

I now join the millions of Americans who are trying to fight the Battle of the Bulge.

I had no idea how hard it was to lose weight! I admit before my thirties I had an attitude of ‘well just eat better and work out a little’. Ah, my naivety.

I’m now in a situation where I can’t work out to the trending programs due to RA and a sports injury. Adding to this I have nearly a decade of poor eating habits to break; in case you didn’t know you need more than 300-500 cals a day to stay thin. Add to this a hysterectomy and I’m sporting a beard and a belly.

The first step I took was signing myself up to My Fitness Pal. I knew for years that I wasn’t eating enough. As a result of poor eating habits I had forced my body into starvation mode. I was retaining pretty much everything I ate adding weight despite the lack of food.

By using My Fitness Pal I could track my calories as well of other vitamins and minerals to know where I needed the most work. I was startled to realize I was much worse off than I thought. On an average day I was eating very little and most of that was from drinks like at Starbucks.

Here’s an example of one of my better days when I first started recording my eating habits.

Your Food Diary For:
Thursday April 25, 2013 
Breakfast Calories Carbs Fat Protein Sodium Sugar
Honey Nut Cherrios W Nonfat Milk, 1 1/8 cup 225 33 2 3 240 14
Starbucks – Caramel Frapachino Nonfat With Whip, 20 oz 460 84 12 6 0 0
  685 117 14 9 240 14
 
Lunch
 
Dinner
Homemade – Pasta Bake – Shells, Mozarella and Ragu With Lean Ground Beef, 3 cup 196 18 9 10 394 2
  196 18 9 10 394 2
 
Snacks
Pepperidge Farm – Goldfish Baked Snack Crackers – Cheddar, 55 pieces 140 20 5 3 250 0
  140 20 5 3 250 0
 
Totals 1,021 155 28 22 884 16
Your Daily Goal 1,420 195 47 53 2,500 28
Remaining 399 40 19 31 1,616 12
Calories Carbs Fat Protein Sodium Sugar

After a few days of finding out what I was doing wrong I was able to make sure I cut back on the Starbucks and started eating more healthy food choices.

What diet plan is complete, however, with out some exercise?

When I was skinny and worked women’s retail I used to tell people ‘What does it matter what you weight? I’d be happy at 200lbs as long as I’m still small.’ Again the naivety shows itself.

I started out simple enough just a walk around the block. There are two paths I can take. One ‘the short one’ is .4 miles. The ‘long one’ is .6 miles. I try to do the long one as often as possible but sometimes I just don’t make it.

The good news is that after doing this since April I’ve lost about 5lbs. I know that doesn’t seem like much. To make it worse it likes to come back. It truly is a struggle. Even now as I’m writing this I realize all I’ve had to eat today (it’s 9:16am and I’ve been up since 6:44) is half a 23floz can of Arizona Southern Style Sweet Tea.

It’s easy to fall back into my habits of not eating. I’ve already walked .4 miles and added my 71 cals into my diet. Now I need to eat them!

I certainly have more respect for people who successfully lose weight. My starting weight of 178 was only 18lbs over my max healthy weight for my age and build. It’s a struggle just to keep that 5lbs off. It really does come back. Sometimes just a day will pass and I’ll go from 173.5 to 177.

I try to keep positive and remind myself that at least I didn’t go up to 178 or higher! Weighting yourself only once a week at the same time of day also helps. That way you’re not looking at every fluctuation in water weight.

My favorite part of this ordeal? Measuring myself! I might be struggling to lose weight but inches are coming off. I’ve lost two inches in my hips and build more muscle in my calves. Sadly my calves had very little blubber on them to begin with and now my 300$ pair of boots are rather… snug. My neck and calves are both a robust 14 inches.

I quickly realized I walked on my toes and needed to walk on my heels more to work my thighs. Well… when I walk for exercise anyway. I don’t want my calves to get flabby! 😉

About Marcia Young

I’m the wife of an active duty Army NCO and the mother of one, home schooled, special needs child. I have won several people’s choice awards for my fanfiction under the moniker MLMonty. All of my current published works can be found via Smashwords and other retailers under my nom de plume Marcia Young. I am currently open to finding a new literary agent and publisher.
This entry was posted in General Ramblings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

