Chicken Suprise Rolls

Since I started to do the couponing thing I find I tend to go overboard. My commissary had a sale on Philadelphia cream cheese it was $1.36. I had a several coupons for 1$ off two. Needless to say I stocked up. I then had to figure out what to do with all of them!

Enter Kraft’s website. They have a handy search engine that allows you to put in what you have on hand and pops up recipes for it. I ended up making a version their Zesty Chicken Pot Pie. I rather liked it and ended up eating it all, over the course of three days, since my man was out of town and my boy decided he didn’t like it.

One problem though; I had leftover filling.

Any regular reader knows I hate waste. So to combat this I had to figure out what to do with the filling. I ended up with this.

IMG_0913Doesn’t look too pretty, huh? Oh, well, it tasted just fine! I took the filling and rolled it into the crescent rolls before baking them. Now for mine I baked them at the recommended temp for the rolls and for the max recommended time. They came out fine on top but a little doughy on the bottom. I’d suggest cooking them a bit longer to prevent this.

They made a great grazing meal. In my family we tend to graze all day; which is rather good for weight loss actually. I placed them on the coffee table got to work crocheting and listening to River Monsters reruns and popped one in my mouth every so often.

For me this is the perfect type of meal. I often find that by the time I finish cooking I’m no longer interesting in what I made. Worse yet, I get distracted and end up not eating at all whether I cooked or not. Most of my girth is from poor food choices combined with not eating enough.

Word to the wise; eating 500 cals a day where 300 comes from coffee drinks makes you gain weight.

About Marcia Young

I’m the wife of an NCO and the mother of one, home schooled, special needs child. I have won several people’s choice awards for my fanfiction under the moniker MLMonty. All of my current published works can be found via Smashwords and other retailers under my nom de plume Marcia Young. I am currently open to finding a new literary agent and publisher.
This entry was posted in General Ramblings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

