Cotton Candy Scarf

I wanted to make a plaid scarf for my father for Christmas, and a late birthday present. To make it extra special I wanted it in our family tartan. I’ve said before that the names I use, both Marcia Young and MLMonty, are derived from real names that are related to my family. As a Monty there are several tartans I could use with no problem. The one that I always associate with my particular US branch of the clan, however, was the modern hunting tartan.

I often joke that if you go anywhere with a decent population you can’t throw a stone without hitting someone related to a Monty. After a lot of searching I found the ‘right’ tartan. One problem… I had no idea how to crochet in plaid!

Enter this youtube video.

While her very helpful video is for washcloths let’s be honest it’s not hard to go from washcloth to scarf. A few extra lines here and there and voila done.

So before I got started with ordering my yarn I need to practice. Enter my practice piece!

I made it in a kid’s size. I also used some god awful colors I had and didn’t care if I messed up with. It reminds me of cotton candy and not in a flattering way… Oh, well, I’ll slap it on Etsy and see what happens with it. Who knows someone might want to torment their friend by giving it to their friend’s kid?

About Marcia Young

I’m the wife of an NCO and the mother of one, home schooled, special needs child. I have won several people’s choice awards for my fanfiction under the moniker MLMonty. All of my current published works can be found via Smashwords and other retailers under my nom de plume Marcia Young. I am currently open to finding a new literary agent and publisher.
This entry was posted in Crocheting and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

