Happy Halloween!

I love Halloween!

I get to dress up with out judgment. I get to watch as my son dresses up without judgment. I get candy! My son gets candy. My husband gets to watch horror movies without hiding; cause they make me scared and I’ll be busy handing out candy or going door-to-door with my son. I get to watch all the little princesses consorting with creepers, goblins and mummies.

There is magic in the air. I can honestly see how people believed the worlds of the living and dead thinned during this night. It feels magical.

We decided to decorate as soon as our neighborhood allowed; and we had time. So here’s a few snippets of our Halloween decor. Obviously we’re not the best but we had fun.

This is the last year my son will be able to wear any of his three Star Wars costumes. We decided to send them off in style! Darth Vader dressing up as Yoda style that is!

Some poison bottles, a black candle, a pair of grim brothers and the hair of a severed head.

You can not see it but under my crochet spiderweb to the left is a black skull who flashes colors like green and red when lit.

Not terribly scary from the front I know. As with most things it’s what’s hidden that matters.

Those foot prints really were fun. They’re my husband’s stride.

They lead all the way out the gate. The window has a few splatters along with the porch lights.

Sadly this will be his last year participating in Halloween. He’s got a hole in his head and his limbs are backwards and frankly he’s dirty.

Nate had a blast making this. It looks a bit weird with the skull and plump body. My husband just said it was decomposition and gases. Whatever.

I have a bunch of flame-less candles set up so it’s really neat at night. Sadly my night pics didn’t come out too well as you can imagine. I especially like the one under our cow skull.

IMG_0984You can see this all the way from the street behind our house.

I hope everyone of you who celebrates Halloween has a safe and fun night!

About Marcia Young

I’m the wife of an active duty Army NCO and the mother of one, home schooled, special needs child. I have won several people’s choice awards for my fanfiction under the moniker MLMonty. All of my current published works can be found via Smashwords and other retailers under my nom de plume Marcia Young. I am currently open to finding a new literary agent and publisher.
This entry was posted in General Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

