French Worksheets

My son is blazing through K12 despite his frustration at Common Core. As a parent I have issues with the way the material is presented. As a student my son has issues with trying to figure out what the hell they’re talking about. Despite this he got on the A Honor Roll for 1st Quarter. We’re so far ahead, since we don’t observe most holidays and we ignore the repeated Kmails telling us to follow the syllabus schedule, that he should graduate 4th grade two months ahead of the state.

I had promised him that if he got enough Behavior Tokens in a month we would go back to traditional homeschooling. He exceeded his requirement so I’ve been shopping for curriculum. One of the things I’ve wanted him to do, but was previously told not to, was teach him a 2nd language. Because he had a severe speech delay we were downright told by DOD schools in Germany that if he was taught a 2nd language they would withdrawal all speech therapy. Since we now no longer get speech therapy nor does he go to DOD schools we can do so.

Enter Mango Languages. I have long believed that I was ‘language deaf’. I’ve tried learning Latin, Spanish, and German, all to no avail. The only time I could speak Spanish was when I was trying to speak German! However, some libraries offer Mango Languages Library Edition and mine is one of them. I decided instead of learning for real lets pick a fun language to learn. I chose Scottish Gaelic. I now know how those people in the Rosetta Stone commercials feel. It was great to actually remember it and be able to follow along with their simple conversations. Ok, so when will I honestly need a language that fewer than 100,000 people speak? Other than the extreme off chance I go to a Monty Clan Reunion, it’s unlikely ever.

Nate however decided to pick French as his language. I’m not sure he even had a reason to. Spanish is the 2nd most common language in the US. We have German speakers in our homeschool group but he wanted French. I just let him pick it and we’ll begin officially in March or so.

Immediately I realized a problem. There are no kid friendly worksheets for the Library Edition. I know they have a kid program I can buy but my library gives me a version for free. It’s just not for kids. Nate like a lot of kids is hands on. So, I looked for worksheets I could download for free and print off.

Perhaps your not surprised but I found very few and all or most of them were for kindergarteners. Stuff like here’s a picture of a cat to color now here’s the word for cat in French and English. That’s not what I wanted. While Nate will take any excuse he can to use crayons and color, or do art in general, he wouldn’t learn a thing from this.

So, I made some and here’s the first.

French word match

French word matchI was lucky enough to have a native French speaker review it. She had pointed out that the usage of the verb ‘to hold’ while technically correct in the use ”Oh, Good morning!” was like someone saying “How do you do?” in English. It may be right but you’re not going to really use it and if you do people are going to be WTF.

I’ll post more as I make them. Download, share, enjoy!

Disclaimer: These worksheets are not to be sold or altered in any way.

About Marcia Young

I’m the wife of an active duty Army NCO and the mother of one, home schooled, special needs child. I have won several people’s choice awards for my fanfiction under the moniker MLMonty. All of my current published works can be found via Smashwords and other retailers under my nom de plume Marcia Young. I am currently open to finding a new literary agent and publisher.
This entry was posted in Free Worksheets and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

