Car Hunting… Again?

This looks familiar. I’m pretty sure I was just here in the summer with my husband; ending up with a Prius v 5. I must admit I didn’t see this coming. There is nothing wrong with my car. Absolutely nothing! And no that’s not just denial talking. All the problems lays at my son’s large feet.

I have a cute little Chrysler 200 Convertible. Little is where the problem comes in. Back in ’11 my neighbor jumped my battery in my PT Cruiser Convertible but sparked it killing every electronic in the car. Long story short, I ended up with a new car rather than spending several thousand to fix what I had. Here I am two years later with a growing son.

At ten and almost a half he reaches my chest in height. I didn’t think this height was an issue until my dad and his wife came to visit. Trying to fit an adult in the back of a two door convertible… yeah. It seems that visit was the start of pointing out how inadequate my car is for a ‘mom car’.

I couldn’t take the paper-mache volcano to Homeschool Group since it wouldn’t fit in the trunk. Luckily my co-leader made that happen. I rarely take the top down since my car is filled with miscellaneous paper and toys. Lifting luggage and crates of water into the trunk is a challenge with my arthritis. And of course there’s only so much time before my son no longer fits in the back seat. I have more relatives coming in June and it’ll be a… challenge to get them in there as it is.

But do I really need a new car? Okay, who doesn’t love the new car smell and the thrill of driving something new off the lot? But do I need a new car? I’d say no, but that’s my gut reaction to knowing I’d have to take out a loan since we paid cash for the Prius. I’d say no since I’d feel guilty about trading in a car after only two years. I’d so no since we just got an extended warranty, and are still paying that off.

My son insists that he’s got plenty of room in the back. The miser in me points out that in three years, two and half, he’ll be able to ride in the front seat and it’ll be a moot point. Surely a ten year old boy can’t grow that much in three years, right?

While I live in the Great State of Denial I’m making plans. A new severe budget has been implemented; right in time for the holidays! I checked in my trade in value estimating a conservative 11,900. I built four cars and compared options. (If you’re really interested in the pic below click on it to expand it)

potential carsI was leaning toward the Jetta before I made my list. Now the C-MAX is winning due to features. The downside of the C-MAX is the small cargo space and lack of automatic headlights. I mean, really? You can give me rain sensing windshield wipers, but not a feature that comes standard on most cars! That lack of logic makes me want to throw up my hands and buy a Lexus CT 200h out of spite.

Okay, I could never spend that much more on a car out of spite… well the circumstances would be extreme anyway. Like being kidnapped and forced to buy a car extreme; sadly no one likes to kidnap me for my car buying prowess.

Out of humor I decided to give my husband the above chart only minus the names. He immediately removed the Jetta and Lexus. After he compared the remaining two he picked the Ford. Needless to say I could hardly contain my giggles as I told him to scroll up to see the names.

For now I think I’ll wait and plan. Hopefully by the time my son complains about crawling into the back seat I’ll have more money and less guilt.

… besides I really do like my 200 convertible.

About Marcia Young

I’m the wife of an active duty Army NCO and the mother of one, home schooled, special needs child. I have won several people’s choice awards for my fanfiction under the moniker MLMonty. All of my current published works can be found via Smashwords and other retailers under my nom de plume Marcia Young. I am currently open to finding a new literary agent and publisher.
This entry was posted in General Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

