Magic the Gathering

A few weeks ago a chatty Private had asked my husband if he’d heard of a card game called Magic. My husband had started laughing. These kids were naught but toddlers when my husband was an avid Magic collector.

When we married back in ’99 he had a shoebox full of them. They were arranged into decks, tied with rubber bands and tossed inside. I hadn’t even known he played until we were married for at least a year. Once I learned I asked him to teach me how. We’d spend hours playing, badly in my case, and giggling.

Around the time my son came into the picture my husband had decided he was tired of the game and sold the entire shoebox full of cards. Fast forward to a few weeks ago and it being brought to his attention that it was still played.

Our 10 year old decided that he wanted to know what all the laughter was about. So my husband showed him some youtube videos about the game. My son was hooked. He insisted that he wanted to learn to play. They struck up a deal. My husband would buy him a deck and teach him if he helped me around the house since I was still having trouble getting over a migraine.

When Saturday rolled around and my husband and I were running our errands he decided he needed to stop at Target and grab a few premade decks; the kind that comes with a deck and two booster packs. I insisted that I needed a deck too and by the end of our shopping trip we had three starter decks, three boasters, and extra for Christmas.

When going through and setting up our decks my son stumbled across something my husband had not seen before. A mythic rare. I know there’s a 1 in 8 chance of getting it but he’d never managed it; our 10 year old did.

IMG_1030

I insisted that they put it in a protective case. It might not be worth anything but it’s extra rare and that’s cool. My husband pointed out that if he did that he couldn’t play with it. So I struck a deal. Anytime one of us managed to score a mythic rare we’d put it up and in exchange we’d get a new booster pack.

Faced with gaining more cards for losing one my son agreed.

My husband helped our son build his deck making sure, since he was a beginner, to only use two colors; black and blue. They played a game and Nate was soundly trounced. Nate’s very competitive so he had to go again. He has a bit of trouble remembering to tap lands and has a tendency to over pay but for the most part he has the rules down.

My husband was brutally murdered in the second game; 15-0.

IMG_1029

No, no, he didn’t let him win. That was an honest to goodness victory. Nate’s a bad winner and a sore loser; something we are trying to get him to be better about. So, yes, you’d think we’d let him win just to not hear fussing, but no. We insist he earn every win. How would he learn otherwise?

Needless to say another game ensued. This time my husband decided he was going to win but held off assured of his victory; and promptly lost as a result. Nate can be ruthless!

After much bugging from my son I finally built my deck a multicolored mess of characters if there ever was one. My husband is playing red and blue, Nate has black and blue and I managed to have everything. I took a calculated risk of having everything in my deck; some cards I can only play if I pull the correct lands or artifacts first.

I played my husband first to familiarize myself with the rules; and lost. I played Nate next; and lost. To be fair he did tell me before I played him, “I’m going to win”. Then Nate decided he wanted to play both of us.

You could see his gloating a mile away; damn rogues. Eventually though the tables turned and my husband killed Nate. There was growling that issued from our rabidly sore loser. Yes, he actually growled, proclaimed it unfair and sulked. After he was told he wouldn’t be allowed to play again for the rest of the day he bounced from one of us to the other trying to get us to decimate the other. If not for my green cards giving me back life I’d have lost to my husband’s damnable birds.

In the end I won my first game in, nearly ever. Best of all it was one of the funnest Sunday’s we’d had in a long time.

About Marcia Young

I’m the wife of an NCO and the mother of one, home schooled, special needs child. I have won several people’s choice awards for my fanfiction under the moniker MLMonty. All of my current published works can be found via Smashwords and other retailers under my nom de plume Marcia Young. I am currently open to finding a new literary agent and publisher.
This entry was posted in General Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Magic the Gathering

  1. Me says:

    I miss cardboard crack!

Leave a Reply

