Dry Erase Desk?

For a while now I’ve been playing with the idea of repainting the top of my son’s student desk with dry erase paint. When his ADHD gets bad enough I already find pen doodled on it so it might save me yelling and him some timeouts.

I decided to go with Rust-Oleum’s white board paint. It has bad reviews and I really should have taken a step back from there. However it was only 20$ vs the brand Lowes carries for 74$ that covers as much space.

The directions say to mix the two bottles of paint, you have 2 hrs to paint your items before it stops working and wait 3 days to have it cure.

So here’s how my experience went down.

Since the can said to apply to a smooth surface I decided not to sand down the desk. It was already smooth and I figured I could add a few extra layers if needed too.

018830782ca0e6c6ad50386203bdf5313c1829fe8aThis is after three coats. I then decided I needed to sand it off after all.

photo 4(1)Turns out there was a blond hiding under there! Bill kept getting in the way.

After that I repainted it. What I found was that after three coats going on smooth it peeled like 30 year old lead paint.

01efa7555fbc9e924cf737c1e0ef74c1cfc9ab597fPainting over this did not work so I had to remove the pealing sections and added about 12 coats. I’m not kidding. The can said 50sq ft and I used 2/3 of the can on this less than 8 sqft space.

In the end it looked like this when we were done:

photo 2 (4)You can actually see the layers upon layers of paint. We waited the required 3 days. We finished on Saturday and I didn’t let him use it till Tuesday.

This was the result.

photo 3 (4)That has been scrubbed, and scrubbed, and scrubbed.

Nate was pissed. We did all that work for nothing. The only thing I can think of is that we went over the 2 hr mark. I guess they weren’t kidding about that!

I finally told him that if we can’t figure out how to get it off we’ll use the desktop till we can’t really use it anymore. After that I’ll sand it down again, or chip it off since it really likes to flake off, and repaint it in a few months with a different brand of white board paint.

Needless to say this is the only time I’ll be using that brand.

About Marcia Young

I’m the wife of an NCO and the mother of one, home schooled, special needs child. I have won several people’s choice awards for my fanfiction under the moniker MLMonty. All of my current published works can be found via Smashwords and other retailers under my nom de plume Marcia Young. I am currently open to finding a new literary agent and publisher.
This entry was posted in General Ramblings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

