Fitbit Force

I’m in love with it. Seriously in love. As I’ve mentioned before I have trouble eating enough. So to help me I use Myfitnesspal to track my intake but I found I still wasn’t losing weight. (and that I tended to not actually put everything in it that I should) Eventually I heard about Up and thought that I might like that. I did the research and it sounded great; even came in a verity of colors.

I’ve used pedometers before and found I’d use them for about a month or so then stop. I always knocked them off or they’d shift and I’d walk a half mile only to find it recorded 200 steps. Then there’s the remembering to put them on every morning. So the Up seemed like a good idea.

When I checked my Px to see if they had it I found the Flex instead. So I went from site to site and compared. In the end I chose the Force. It was cheaper then the Up24 and seemed to do more in all honesty. So in the end I decided on the Force. Only to not be able to find it!

Apparently it was a pretty hot Christmas gift. We ended up finding one, count it one, at our Bestbuy that was opened. It was also a large while I’d probably have done better with a small. My wrist is 6”. We bought it anyway. It’s only a .3 inch difference so I wear it like I do watches, shove it up my arm till it stops slipping around.

I admit it took a few days to get used to it. Now however I love it. There’s no taking it on and off. No worrying about it. I just treat it like a watch; take it off when showering. Then shove it back on. Since my husband works nights it perfect for me to use the alarm and not waking him in the mornings.

Did I mention I love it?

Now don’t get me wrong. It’s only as good as you are about recording your food. It’s not going to help you lose weight if you still eat whatever you want without knowing if you’re over, or under in my case, your calorie intake. There is more than one day I’ll check my app and find I need to eat some obscene amount, like 411 calories, in 30mins because it’s now 11:30 and I didn’t notice. But it lets me know as long as I check it and gives me that chance.

One thing I discovered was that I was seriously under eating. I know I’ve mentioned it before. But for the first few days of wearing it I decided to find out what I was burning vs what I was taking in. The picture wasn’t pretty.

I was taking in anywhere from 400-800 calories on an average stay at home day. I was burning… well over 1900 a day. Yeah, not good. After a few days I noticed it was recommended me eat 1600ish on a lazy day. I was floored. That’s an insane amount! I can’t remember the last time I ate that much!

Needless to say it was difficult. Now that I’ve been doing it for a while I find it a little easier. I have lost 2lbs so far! Yay, me! I set it to the easiest level since in my case I need to eat more not less. Easiest is 250 calorie deficit. Could you imagine if I chose the hardest of 1000 calorie deficit? I wouldn’t get anywhere!

Overall I’m loving this thing. I plan to buy one for my step dad but his wrist is too big even for the large. I told him as soon as he loses enough to wear it comfortably I’ll buy it for him as a reward.

I could really go on and on about this; and I have to my family and friends. There’s the silent alarm, how it tracks, steps, floors, calories burned, calories eaten (if you put them in), distance. You can manually put in your weight, BMI, body fat, glucose, BP. It’ll send you motivational messages if you want it to and you can compete against your friends.

Seriously in love.

For those of you looking into getting a band make sure to head over to Fitbit and give their devices a look-see.

 

About Marcia Young

I’m the wife of an NCO and the mother of one, home schooled, special needs child. I have won several people’s choice awards for my fanfiction under the moniker MLMonty. All of my current published works can be found via Smashwords and other retailers under my nom de plume Marcia Young. I am currently open to finding a new literary agent and publisher.
This entry was posted in General Ramblings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Fitbit Force

  1. Me says:

    Check out the OneUpYourLife blog. They have a deal with Fitbit. A buddy of ours runs the OUYL page.

  2. I too LOVE my FitBit. I have the Flex, though I wish I had the Force. Anyhow, I found out that I was under-eating too and THIS is probably why I am having a hard time losing weight. Isn’t that a weird concept?! I am trying to eat more, and exercise more with the motivation my FitBit gives me. It gives me the reminder I need. I get competitive with myself for steps and disappointed when I don’t get near my goal.

    • Marcia Young says:

      Under eating is probably more common than people think. This would make weight loss especially hard if paired with poor food choices on top of that. I just wish that Fitbit would add a barcode scanner! I love the ability to add things like my hour of crochet but I keep needing to flit back and forth between Myfitnesspal and Fitbit for the food since if you use them paired it’s recommended that you only log of Myfitness and they don’t count calories burned via things like laundry.

Leave a Reply

