Dishtowels

My dishtowels are ancient. I can’t even remember the last time I bought new ones. Since my husband bought me cotton yarn for Christmas I decided I’d make some of my own. After measuring some of my store bought ones I realized there isn’t a standard size so I went with 24×16 for the finished product.

Yarn: Lily’s Sugar and Cream 2skeins

Hook: 5mm
Needle: 4.5mm

Gauge: Not essential

Copyright

Pattern:

Row 1: Using your hook make a FDC of 16” long.

Row 2: Make sure your last loop is nice and big so you don’t accidentally unravel what you did. Take you needle and thread it through the front loop of your Dc’s.

016172a4b6b05b4198bd8b46975ca9e3b3290338ca 01e77b209d6197f610118ecdcbe0d88367bb811b1fGet all the loops on there. Once that’s done you’re going to begin on a purl row.

Row 3:  Beginning on a knit row start your stockinette. To prevent curling knit the 1st three and last 3 of every purl row. Your stitches will look a little twisted but I rather liked the look.

Row 4: Once the piece measures 24” or your desired length bind off with your needles. DO NOT CUT THE YARN YET.

Row 5: Taking your hook pull the last loop of yarn over it and beginning with a standing Dc, or your favorite beginning st, make Dc’s across the row in the bound off knits. Depending on how tight you knit it might take a bit of muscle to pull those loops up.  Bind off.

01d8e8ae60caf31ca1c4fe4e0ac5da880c39629dd9I wasn’t kidding when I said they were old! This one I put in the dog’s kennel for him to rip up had holes worn through it.

You can just make out at the bottom of my towel how pulling up the loops to knit added a nice twisty look to the edging.

About Marcia Young

I’m the wife of an active duty Army NCO and the mother of one, home schooled, special needs child. I have won several people’s choice awards for my fanfiction under the moniker MLMonty. All of my current published works can be found via Smashwords and other retailers under my nom de plume Marcia Young. I am currently open to finding a new literary agent and publisher.
This entry was posted in Marcia Young Patterns and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dishtowels

  1. Me says:

    I wish I was coordinated enough to knit lol! Looks great!

  2. Jacquline says:

    I keep meaning to knit/crochet some dishtowels. Maybe now I’ll finally get around to it!

    • Marcia Young says:

      I like ’em. Since it’s cotton I just toss ’em in the wash like everything else kitchen related. Plus there’s a TON of colors in plain cotton to chose from. Perfect for whatever your decor is.

Leave a Reply

