When Therapy Works

About a year ago I mentioned in a post that when looking into a doctor, especially one in the mental health profession, you wanted someone who had the same goals as you. Nate had been seeing a doctor for years for situational depression, due to his father’s frequent deployments, and later for ADHD. I’ve mentioned some of the pitfalls we’ve encountered like how he built up a tolerance to his meds and later reacted so badly he was dangerously thin.

When looking into a therapist many people still tend to be wary of them. They often think that going means you’re insane or that the doctor will make up issues just to keep you coming.

I’ve recommended before that when you go before any doctor you should know a few things before hand:

  • Why you need them
  • What you want to get out of it
  • When you’re ready to stop treatment
  • What you aren’t willing to try during treatment
  • What you are willing to try during treatment

Just a few months ago I was frantic trying to find someone to help with my son’s issues due to his meds. I had posted that he had suffered extreme side effects due to his meds and it had me in tears a few times trying to find a doctor who could help.

I am pleased to say my son has gone from 49lbs when last on Concerta to 59lbs. Sadly he seems to be a bit concerned with his weight. I think putting an emphasis on him gaining it when he was in the 0% will stick for a while. Often now he’ll tell me he can’t eat something cause he needs to gain weight; for example he’ll say he can’t drink skim milk, he needs whole milk so he gains weight. He seems to have topped out at 59lbs but I’m just happy he’s not losing it anymore.

This wouldn’t be possible however, if it hadn’t been for his doctor. While his doctor was pro-meds normally he understood that Nate wasn’t doing well. After talking it over with me he understood that I was adamant that he be taken off all meds.

Dr. C was the perfect example of what happens when a doctor and a patient work together for the patient’s health.

When we first started going he said he wanted to see Nate every week. So for months we blocked off our Friday afternoons and reserved it for Dr. C. After a while he said Nate was doing so well that we could come every two weeks. Don’t get me wrong there were a few hiccups along the way and even a threat of sending Nate to a hospital for a few weeks. We toughed it out and after a few more weeks moved to once every month.

I am pleased to say that Nate has just been told that he’s doing so well that he no longer needs to come in! Dr. C has told him that he ‘doesn’t like to punish people for doing well’ but that he simply didn’t need to see him unless there was a problem. Nate likes Dr. C so much he didn’t mind coming in. The man is a ventriloquist as well as a magician so his patients tend to love him. I told Nate that if something good happened I’d be glad to book the appointment just so he could share with Dr. C. After all in a profession where you can’t save everyone and the failures can be deadly having a prior patient come in to share his success can be very uplifting.

That is the way it should be though. When you have a doctor that’s working for you eventually you should get to a point that you don’t need them anymore. Mental health is every bit as important as your physical health. The two are entwined. When you get depressed you might stop eating leading you to feel weak and sleepy. That can lead into you feeling more depressed and create a spiral that’s hard to get out of without help.

Armed with the knowledge that you need help and knowing what you do and don’t want can make a huge difference. Armed with a doctor who’s willing to make a plan of attack with you can change everything.Nate

I have a healthy, happy, child back and as a parent there’s nothing more I could want.

About Marcia Young

I’m the wife of an NCO and the mother of one, home schooled, special needs child. I have won several people’s choice awards for my fanfiction under the moniker MLMonty. All of my current published works can be found via Smashwords and other retailers under my nom de plume Marcia Young. I am currently open to finding a new literary agent and publisher.
This entry was posted in General Ramblings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to When Therapy Works

  1. edwinkimmd says:

    Reblogged this on Are You Mental? and commented:
    Thank you for sharing.

  2. Me says:

    So very glad to hear it!

Leave a Reply

