Tian’s Baby Blanket

It is a baby explosion around here! Every time I turn around another friend is pregnant. I offered to make one of my friends a baby blanket since it’s her first child.

When I last spoke with her my friend didn’t know what gender her child was. I chose dove as a nice gender neutral color and purple since it’s my friend’s favorite color. By making it an accent color the purple won’t turn heads when they visit the US where it’s considered a girl’s color.

Yarn: I Love This Cotton – 2 balls purple and 4 balls dove

Yardage: 668.2-1080

Hook: 5.5mm

Gauge: 8rows x 12.5sts (Gauge is not essential as long as you check your measurements to ensure desired size)

Note: When I made this blanket I chose to use five balls of yarn at once so that I didn’t have to carry the yarn along the back. I simply worked the row until the color change and finished the last pull through two of the dc with the new color. I also used the Russian Join when needed. I feel these techniques make for a cleaner looking product when finished. This of course is not necessary. Feel free to carry along or cut as desired. The foundation dc my also be subbed for a standard chain.

Pattern:

FDC 30” : 37 FDC in dove, 6 FDC in purple, 24 FDC in dove, 6 FDC in purple, 37 FDC in dove. 110 FDC

Row 1: DC 37, cable the next 6 as following ( sk 4 DC, FPTC in the sts 5-6, DC in sts 3-4, FPTC in sts 1-2), DC 24, cable next 6, DC last 37. 110 sts

Row 2: DC across 110 sts

Row 3-62: Alternate rows 1 and 2

Bind off and weave in ends.

About Marcia Young

I’m the wife of an active duty Army NCO and the mother of one, home schooled, special needs child. I have won several people’s choice awards for my fanfiction under the moniker MLMonty. All of my current published works can be found via Smashwords and other retailers under my nom de plume Marcia Young. I am currently open to finding a new literary agent and publisher.
This entry was posted in Marcia Young Patterns and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tian’s Baby Blanket

Leave a Reply

