No Turning Chains for Me!

There are probably a dozen ways to skip the turning chain. When teaching myself to crochet I quickly decided that I didn’t like certain things. The turning chain was one of them. I didn’t understand why I couldn’t just single, double or whatever crochet as normal.

I had halfheartedly looked up a few tips but they tended to be along the lines of, do this really complicated maneuver, or don’t count the chain as a stitch.

Now I’m sure someone else has come up with this method as well but I figured why not add a post about it. I’m running out of things to talk about anyway!

photo 1

Start with just your loop on your hook. Make sure the yarn is to the left of your hook. I find that if it’s the right when you yarn over it won’t be as smooth a look.

photo 2

Yarn over and pull up a loop like normal. Gently pull the loops up until they’re the height of the crochet you’re using; single, double.

photo 3

Simply finish off like normal!

photo 4

It doesn’t look too impressive by itself but when you see a row of them they blend in.

photo

When they’re all lined up it looks like a normal edge! Much less complicated than some of the non turning chain instructions I’ve come across.

About Marcia Young

I’m the wife of an active duty Army NCO and the mother of one, home schooled, special needs child. I have won several people’s choice awards for my fanfiction under the moniker MLMonty. All of my current published works can be found via Smashwords and other retailers under my nom de plume Marcia Young. I am currently open to finding a new literary agent and publisher.
This entry was posted in Crocheting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to No Turning Chains for Me!

  1. tiffanymils says:

    Thats a cute , very interesting idea. I like the way you innovate, instead of rehashing old ideas.

  2. wscottling says:

    I like it. I’ll have to try it on my next project.

  3. jpeggytaylor says:

    I’ve used a similar technique when I’ve been working certain patterns that need a tight edge … though I don’t recall my version having been as scientifically thought out as yours 🙂

Leave a Reply

