Yarn Bombing When It’s Not an Option

I love yarn bombing! Who doesn’t? I mean seriously? It’s awesome! Even the most basic blocks of color snuggling up to a tree or bench just looks great. If the city doesn’t like it the public workers can simply snip it away.

I also find it much more attractive than spray paint creations. Maybe as a crocheter and knitter I’m biased? Ah, well.

As much as I’d love to yarn bomb it wouldn’t be a good idea. We live on a military base and my husband is active duty. That means he needs to be able to ‘control’ his family. In the military if your family gets in trouble you get in trouble. If you’re stationed overseas with your family, an accompanied tour, and your kid gets arrested you can expect them to be ERODed. Early Return of Dependents. This is never a good thing! Even your spouse mouthing off to the wrong person can have detrimental effects to a career.

So as much as I’d love to bomb a few things on post I must restrain myself.

… to a point.

After all where there is a will there’s a way; right?

And housing gives out awards for outdoor decor…

So… why not?

They might not like it but as long as it’s in my yard and non offensive…

I decided to kill two birds with one stone. I get to yarn bomb my yard and practice my clones lace netting. So this one while not impressive was good practice. I also attached some lace and granny squares to it. I’m cheap so I’m using my leftover yarn stash for these projects.

Again while not great it doesn’t look too bad attached to the front gate. Most importantly I got to practice my clones lace netting!

… I really need all the practice I can get.

About Marcia Young

I’m the wife of an active duty Army NCO and the mother of one, home schooled, special needs child. I have won several people’s choice awards for my fanfiction under the moniker MLMonty. All of my current published works can be found via Smashwords and other retailers under my nom de plume Marcia Young. I am currently open to finding a new literary agent and publisher.
This entry was posted in Crocheting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

